Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    printing with notepad (XP home)

    Somethings changed/gone wrong with Notepad Printing. I should start by saying that all other programmes print perfectly both when they have an open file, and when a document in explorer is right click ->print, including wordpad. Notepad itself is printing when opened and then a file is opened and printed from the open notepad.

    What has stopped working from explorer is
    1) right-click print a file associated with notepad like .txt
    2) right-click open, then print the open file
    3) right-click edit a .bat file
    and
    4) (how I discovered the problem), right-click a .bat file shortcut icon then either edit->print or just print

    any help gratefully received

    Mike C

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Hi Mike,
    Try this:
    Open Windows Explorer, choose Tools-Folder Options from the menu, select the File Types tab, scroll down to TXT, click the Change buttons next to 'Opens with.. Notepad' and select Wordpad as the program, then press OK; then click the Restore button, to set it back to Notepad.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Rory hi, thanks for trying to help.

    No go I'm afraid. I had actually set wordpad to be the default programme associated with .txt files and that has got round the .txt issue - though clumsily I admit. So I changed it back to wordpad, but his made no difference. I cant change the association for .bat files because it doesnt list executables in the file association list. My biggest practical difficulty is therefore editing a batch file that is fired off from a shortcut and printing it to check what is going on.

    Sort of thing you dont use for ages, but if you need it and havent got it, it really hurts...

    Mike C

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    If you click the Advanced button under File Types in the Folder Options dialog (for TXT files), select the Open action and click the 'Edit...' button, what does it show in the Application box?
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Note: when replying to my last question, part of the string should be <code>%1</code> - when posting in the Lounge you should always use enclose the % sign in [ ] otherwise it may cause very weird behaviour - so to get %1, you would actually type <code>[%]1</code>
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Rory,
    this is what it said when I first looked at it
    C:WINDOWS$NtServicePackUninstall$notepad.exe /p %1

    I had already changed it to point at the actual installed notepad, but that didnt help.

    Mike C

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    I presume that was for 'print' rather than 'open'?
    How about if you right click a text file in Explorer, choose Open With, Choose Program... select Notepad from the list and check the 'Always use this program to open these files' box?
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    "...$NtServicePackUninstall$..."???

    Shouldn't that be
    <code>C:WINDOWSsystem32NOTEPAD.EXE /p %1</code>

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Rory, Leif hi again and thanks

    Rory, absolutley, because it was a print problem, when I spotted the syntax, I copied it to another document for reference and made the mistake of using that one for you.

    Leif, yes, and thats what I changed it to, sorry if my description to Rory was unclear. It makes no difference if I set it to something else and back to notepad either at the generic or individual file level

    with the open instruction as C:WINDOWSNOTEPAD.EXE %1 it behaves as I described in my original post

    Mike C
    PS. that strange reference is how it was - I have never touched it from new (XP Home, oem installation upgraded to SP2)

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    In the Folder Options dialog, when you looked at the 'Application' setting from open (or print or printto), was the Use DDE box checked?
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Rory,

    Yes it is in all places, I also checked a couple of other apps to see if that were the norm

    Mike C

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Rory,

    thanks for sticking with this - I hope you dont end up regreting it!

    I tried to cover this in an earlier message. In Explorer, if I try to rt-clk->print a file it fails. If I open the file, it opens and if I then try to print it fails.
    The only time it works is if I open notepad, ending up with an empty file; then I open a file; then I print, it works.

    I think we both suspect that it is in some way losing track of the file it has open?

    From your last post, I did try to uncheck DDE. It didnt make any difference to my problem, and when I went back to it, it had been automatically re-checked.

    cheers,

    Mike C

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Hmm, in my Win2k at work, the use DDE box is unchecked for TXT files. Incidentally, I don't recall you ever saying what actually happens when you right-click and choose Open or Print from Explorer - nothing at all or do you get an error?
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Does it just not print or do you get an error? Under the checked 'Use DDE' box, what does it show in the various options (DDE message etc)?
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: printing with notepad (XP home)

    Rory,

    In the DDe dialogue boxes are;
    DDE message - nothing
    DDE application - notepad
    DDE App not running - nothing
    DDE Topic - system

    I do get an error message. It is
    Cannot Access your printer. Be sure that your printer is connected properly and use Control Panel to verify that the printer is configured properly.

    I have found another copy of notepad in system32 and have tried pointing to that without success

    Mike C

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •