Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Extended ASCII

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Extended ASCII

    Is there any way of entering extended ASCII characters (used in German, for example) on a UK keyboard with no numeric keypad? I know it's easy in Word, etc, but would like some means of achieving it directly from the keyboard (rather than cut and paste workaround) in other apps.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Extended ASCII

    You can use the Character Map accessory (Start | (All) Programs | Accessories | System Tools | Character Map). It has buttons to select a character and to copy it to the clipboard, ready to be pasted into an application. (Direct methods require a numeric keypad)

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Extended ASCII

    Are you really saying you have no numeric keypad to the right of the cursor keys on your keyboard, or that you have no separate, additional, numeric keypad?

    Even on a laptop there's always a method of emulating the numeric keypad on the available keys...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Extended ASCII

    Thanks, Hans. That's certainly useful to know. I did suspect that direct entry needed a numeric keypad - my only other hope is that I might be able to use some of the programmable function keys on this keyboard (which I've yet to purchase - Logitech diNovo Edge).

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Extended ASCII

    Thanks for your reply, John. I've yet to purchase the keyboard in question (Logitech diNovo Edge), but very swayed by its looks. It definitely has no numeric keypad to the right of the cursor keys. Your comment about it being possible to emulate the numeric pad makes me hope I'll be able to use some of the programmable function keys on the diNovo keyboard to achieve this.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Extended ASCII

    There seems to be a separate wireless numeric pad, as far as I can tell from the user forums.

    But I'd check carefully that the keyboard does exactly what you want, because a list price of a smidgeon under $200 seems a lot to pay for a snazzy design...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Extended ASCII

    No, the diNovo Edge definitely does not have a separate num. keypad - it's a slightly older diNovo design that comes with this. I agree the cost level is astronomical. It's also problematic in the UK finding a retailer that stocks one for hands-on trial. However, I can work around the lack of a num. pad (only needed for occasional use to get German characters in apps other than Word) - and still crazy enough to be tempted by the styling and the (reputedly) very quiet keystrokes

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Extended ASCII

    I have no idea what the "diNovo Edge" keyboard looks like, but I can recommend the Microsoft Ergonomic 4000 keyboard. It has lots of features, most of which I don't use, the great "natural" design and a very quiet keyboard, much like that of a laptop. And, it is priced far below what this "diNovo Edge" sells for. And most of the "function" keys work without installing the Intellitype software. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    - Microsoft's ad page on this keyboard

    - Review of this keyboard

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Extended ASCII

    Thanks a lot Jeff for your recommendation. It's worth checking out - my last good keyboard was an earlier non-ergo Microsoft one.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Extended ASCII

    There's always a software solution! It's not cheap, but I have been using QuicKeys Keyboard Shortcuts for a number of years, for a lot of keyboard shortcuts (I used to call 'em macros). Mine has gotten so much use that it's long since paid for itself. There is a subset of QuicKeys called Quick Type that could be just what you're looking for.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Extended ASCII

    Thanks Al. You seem to have quite a talent for coming up with good solutions! I'll most likely buy the keyboard first and if it doesn't have any programming feature that can be used to access extended ASCII try QuickKeys. The 30-day trial could well be vital given the cost.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Extended ASCII

    Good luck to you, Nick and please keep us informed on your progress. I think the Quick Type function of QuicKeys might be the easiest to do what you're after. I have it setup for example to type my full name whenever I type my initials followed by a space. I did a test before I made that last post and created "abbreviations" of oo or uu followed by a space to type the umlaut variant of those letters.

    [b]<big><big>aeh = Albert E Hoffman
    oo =

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Extended ASCII

    Have you come across this one, Al?

    Quick-Type 1 - Reviews and free Word Processing downloads at ZDNet.co.uk

    Looks similar to the Quick Type function of QuicKeys, but somewhat cheaper <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Edited by bigaldoc to make the URL live

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Extended ASCII

    Nope, I haven't even looked for years, because of using QuicKeys. But it is worth a trial and sounds exactly the same thing. I couldn't see the price anywhere on your link, but on the USA page it says it's $15 which is way better (lower) than mine!

    PS Are you having any trouble with making a link live? If so, holler...

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Extended ASCII

    Will let you know how I get on when I get the new keyboard - applying thumbscrews to get it as a birthday present early next month.

    Thanks - I would indeed like to know how to make a link live - again easy in Word but I've never got further than that!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •