Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Stop Code 50? (XP MCE SP2)

    Oh boy, for the first time in ALL these years of using Win XP, I had a BSOD a short time ago upon reboot of this machine. At the top of the BSOD, it started with STOP: 0x00000050 followed by three hex notations in parens. I had to power off to do what the BSOD said - restart the computer, in safe mode if necessary. It seemed to think that it was "hardware or software" oriented. Yeah, sure, what the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> else would it be?

    Well, after a power off and a smoke to calm my nerves, I rebooted successfully. I received a normal request window to send a report to MS and this attachment shows what was behind that window, in case anyone can advise what they think might have caused it. When I Googled on stop code 50, one of the hits was this page at MS: <!mskb=903251>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 903251<!/mskb>. I don't know if I have this virus, but I looked on my drives for files even coming close to what this article mentions and I have nothing like this. I'm going to close everything down now and let Avast do a full drive scan even though it's been active all the while and hasn't reported anything to me.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Stop Code 50? (XP MCE SP2)

    If Avast was active, it's not very likely you got that virus.

    Unless this starts to occur frequently, I'd write it off as a fluke.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Stop Code 50? (XP MCE SP2)

    Yeah, I too hope you're correct. Flukes happen every day, right?

    Funny thing was, I was in the middle of making <post#=635,655>post 635,655</post#> to Nick and couldn't get my umlauts characters to work, so I thought oh well, what the heck. Like most glitches a reboot sometimes helps. So, I started the machine and WHAM-O...

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Stop Code 50? (XP MCE SP2)

    Once again, I think you were correct. I let Avast do a scan of my two internal hard drives and the only two things it came up with were a software installer (*) from a couple of years ago, sitting in my software repository folder, which Avast "claims" is adware. Huh? After all this time - I don't think so. I have Vista Beta still installed all by itself on my D: drive and Avast says there is a Win32.Gremo virus in the Vista pagefile. Again I say Huh? A virus in a pagefile and nowhere in any files? OK, delete that sucker.

    Anway, with <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> I continue about my daily business...

    PS (*) Each Spring, I run a college basketball "pool" for a number of folks in my locale. I use Turbo Tourney to do the job. This one is from two years ago and has been scanned MANY times by TrendMicro AND Avast so I'm comfortable that it's not adware.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Stop Code 50? (XP MCE SP2)

    If it happens again you should click on the technical details link. You should get information on what exe or dll was the culprit.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Stop Code 50? (XP MCE SP2)

    To be honest about it, the only reason I didn't was that I thought it would be in the Event Viewer and I'd look at it later. But, unfortunately, there's no DLL mentioned in there either. Thanks, Joe.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •