Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    moving database (2003)

    Hi All, I have a database (split front-end and back-end) which I would like to copy and move to another site (another physical location...ie. another hospital). I am able to copy the forms, queries, reports, etc that I want to move, but the user permissions, security, etc seem to be copied also, which I don't want. I'd like to take the copied dB and load it onto a new system.....without all the security info. Can this be done? Thanks, Van

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: moving database (2003)

    You'll have to go into Tools | Security | User and Group Permissions... and undo all the security, i.e.make Admin the owner of all database objects again, and assign Admin full permissions.

    If you have secured the default System.mdw workgroup file, I'd rename it and let Access create a new unsecured one.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: moving database (2003)

    Thank Hans. Can I do this from within the copied dB and not have the current .mdw file altered? I suspect not. If not, can I take the new dB to another computer (the new site location), then from there undo all the security? thanks, Van

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: moving database (2003)

    You'll have to undo the security while using the secured mdw. Once you have given Admin all permissions again, you can move the database to another computer. If you open the database using an unsecured mdw, you'll automatically log in as Admin.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: moving database (2003)

    thanks muchly for your help and expertise Hans. Van

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: moving database (2003)

    Hi Hans, I've have made Admin the woner of all database objects and assigned Admin full permissions.....but, I can't seem to change the owner of the database from myself to Admin??? (the "change owner" button is greyed-out). Do I need to this in order to move the database? thanks, Van

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: moving database (2003)

    Can you log in as Admin now and change ownership?

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: moving database (2003)

    I can login as Admin, but can't change ownership....."change owner" stilled greyed out.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: moving database (2003)

    Well, it probably doesn't matter...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •