Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Free firewall for Vista

    I have a new Compaq Presario running Vista. It came with the Norton 60-day trial (Security & Firewall).
    I don't like it - too bloated, etc.
    What are some <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> firewalls available for Vista? No router in use here...don't need one.
    Sometime in late March/early April, I will be migrating from Adelphia to RR, and RR has their own Security Suite - not sure which one it is, but in the meantime, I want to get rid of Norton.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    It's hard to believe that Norton Internet Security is "bloated" in comparison with Windows Vista and the magnificent hardware required to run it in all its full glory. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    But I can understand the desire to find a free product before the trial expires. For best results, I suggest sticking with the established players, like ZoneAlarm. You can sign up for a notification of the Vista-compatible release. Not sure they will beat your ticking clock, however.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    As an interim measure, you can use the Windows Firewall that is built into Vista. It's free, you won't have to install anything, and provides better protection than many reviews would have you believe.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    You can get a 90 day Windows Live OneCare and if you like it you just convert it to a paid version. It includes a AV as well as a extended firewall.
    Been using it since RTM of Vista and before.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> True, Vista is bloated and quite a change from my beloved ME <img src=/S/crybaby.gif border=0 alt=crybaby width=15 height=15>, but Symantec has been notorious for getting more bloated over the years. I don't know about ZA - had it once - for 2 weeks on my ME...didn't like it.
    Guess I'll just keep looking.
    Thanks for the reply.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    Right now, the Windows Firewall is turned off, cuz Norton turned it off...to take over the 'safety' of my pc. I'd still have to get an AV program, of course.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    Lot's of hype out there in NET land concerning firewalls ..... IMHO. But Vista's own Windows Firewall provides adequate protection. Seldom are you going to be "hacked" by some miscreant. A router is one of the best protections you can find around and they require no configuration, upkeep, updating, etc. You just plug it in and it works. A router and Windows Firewall would serve you well. What you need to really concern yourself with is Antivirus protection. IMHO, there are only 3 real choices out there and I'll list them in the order of my preference. Obviously others will disagree. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/giggle.gif>

    1. Kaspersky AV (They also offer KIS (a full suite, including AV, firewall, antispam, etc., but I don't care for suites)
    - AOL offers a free AV which uses the KAV engine and seems to work fairly well and without having to install anything else from AOL.
    2. NOD32
    3. AntiVir (there is a free and Pro version)

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    I couldn't wait! After reading all the data on the link, I said to just go for it!
    Did the uninstall re the Nortoncrap, rebooted, used the Symantec Uninstaller removal .exe, rebooted, then re-connected my modem and went and got the OneCare!
    I am now in the 90day trial plan.
    Did the updates, virus checkup, and all the other goodies that this program offers...except for the 'backups'...which I've never, ever done before. Never seem to need a backup of my files - nothing on this pc - other than whatever came on this pc - is needed to be backedup. I'll just wait on the backup.
    Again, thank you.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    Didn't see your reply until after I had just posted my reply to Dave.
    Thanks for all of your input. I really do appreciate it very much.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    Lonnie,
    OneCare comes with a "Backup", but I will not use it, I use TrueImage. The backup that is with OneCare is based on the "Windows Backup, which is NOT very good.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    I've never used a backup...ever. I didn't let OneCare do a backup, since I don't understand the need for them. Not for me, at least. If I were a business person, or a writer, etc., - then I could understand the need for backups. But all I am is a computer-user...reads some emails (which get deleted immediately), member of Forums to learn about things relating to computer useage, player of online games, payer of bills online and that's about it. I don't do photos or anything that needs to be 'stored' on the harddrive. When I had my old computer - which had a 20GB HDD - it was always 18GB free - which was mainly the ME OS.
    So...you you think I really need a backup?

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    > So...you you think I really need a backup?

    How long would it take you to recover if you had to reinstall everything after a hard drive failure, a catastrophic software failure, or a security intrusion?

    Of course this is only going to happen to you once every year or so, and you may be able to afford the time. but with an image backup it would take less than an hour.

    StuartR

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    Ok, I understand that. It states that there are 2000+ new files that have been updated. Guess putting a cd into the cdr won't hurt. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    Backing up just the files won't enable you to recover from a catastrophic failure of the hard disk or operating system, you would need an image backup.

    I haven't used OneCare and I don't know if it does an image backup, or just file backups.

    StuartR

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Free firewall for Vista

    Does file backups.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •