Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Network Password

    I recently installed an external cable modem which connects to the computer via a 10BaseT NIC. This required the creation of a "LAN" even though my computer is standalone. Now when I boot the computer an "Enter Network Password" window appears and has to be cleared before the boot will complete. This is NOT the "Windows Login" window (associated with the .pwl file). All of the help and MS KnowledgeBase articles contain information on how to get rid of the Windows Login. Does anyone know how to get rid of the Enter Network Password window?
    TIA
    Donald

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    Use TweakUI and have Windows "Remember Password".
    If you do NOT have TweakUi you can download it here http://www.microsoft.com/NTWorkstation/dow...g/NTTweakUI.asp

    <font color=red>Yes, this link is to the NT area, this version is good for Win 98FE, SE, Me, and 2K.</font color=red>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Quakertown, PA, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    517
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    Dave:
    How come I didn't have to download tweakui to do that? Just curious... I've got cable internet, which puts me on a "lan" too. And I don't have to log into my PC or onto any lan.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    I don't know, on my wife's new Win Me machine, when we did the new machine setup it remembered that it is on a network and has NOT asked for a password since. But my Win 98FE and Win2K (dual boot) machine I have to run TweakUI.
    Go figure[img]/w3timages/icons/dragon.gif[/img][img]/w3timages/icons/dragon.gif[/img][img]/w3timages/icons/scream.gif[/img]

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Quakertown, PA, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    517
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    Thanks![img]/w3timages/icons/thinks.gif[/img]

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    Hi Dreamboat:
    Here's a tip I copied some time ago. This should work. If you don't have multiple users configured: Open Control Panel, and double-click on the Network icon. From the list entitled Primary Network Logon:, choose Windows Logon, and press OK.

    Note: If this doesn't work, make sure you didn't initially configure a password for yourself. If you did,Windows will always require it. Double-click on the Passwords icon in Control Panel to choose nothing (leave it blank) for your password.

    If you do have multiple users configured: Run the Registry Editor (REGEDIT.EXE). Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE Network Logon. Double-click on the Process Logon Script value, and change the data from 0000 00 to 0000 01

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    Very simple, Right click on Network Neighborhood and go to properties. Remove Client for Microsoft Network. When you reboot, it may ask for a windows password, put in any user name and leave the password blank. If you already set a windows password, do a Find- Files or Folder and delete all the *.pwl files.

    Wolfman
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    The network client was installed when I went onto cable. Will my cable connection still work if I remove the network client?

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    Yes, it will work, the cable modem only uses the network card and TCP/IP
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    Hi Mike:
    Is that true for DSL also? I thought that Earthlink told me that I needed Client for Microsoft Networks for DSL to work properly.

    If I don't need it, will my dialup work faster if I remove it?

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Password

    99% of the time, DSL and cable do not use Client for Microsoft, BUT both are still a network connection and depending on how the ISP (ie. earlink) has you logging in (which should be transparent to you) you may need it. You can try going into your network settings and going into the properties for Client for Microsft Networks, if there are no domains listed, try removing it and rebooting. If you do need it and it does not work, just re-add it (make sure you have a win98 CD handy)
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •