Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Scansoft \ Nuance PDF Pro File Menu Problem

    The menu bar that contains file, edit, view ect disappeared and I couldn

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Scansoft \ Nuance PDF Pro File Menu Problem

    If the title bar is not visible, you can move the window down using this combination of keystrokes:

    Alt+Spacebar -- to call up the built-in window menu
    M -- for Move
    Down Arrow -- repeat until title bar comes into view
    Enter -- to finish moving

    Does that work?

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Scansoft \ Nuance PDF Pro File Menu Problem

    No it actually doesn't work - - - its not the title bar that I can't grab its actaully the file menu. The title bar is still there.
    My last point was actually wrong - I can't see anything even when I do Alt+F to try and open the file menu. Nothing happens. Its like even the bottom of the menu is outside the screen or it has dissapeaered completly.
    I have attached some screen shots here.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Scansoft \ Nuance PDF Pro File Menu Problem

    I'm not sure where the menus went. Presumably those customizations (which toolbars to show) are stored either in a file or in the registry. If you can determine where they are stored, you should be able to clear those preferences and/or reset them to the original settings. However, I suggest contacting Nuance support first.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Scansoft \ Nuance PDF Pro File Menu Problem

    What happens when you click on the double box in the upper right couner and Minimize the window ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Scansoft \ Nuance PDF Pro File Menu Problem

    One other thought. Have you tried the alt-V (View) key combo to see which toolbars are checked ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Scansoft \ Nuance PDF Pro File Menu Problem

    Hi - the Alt+V combo doesn't do anything - like the other menus its just not there.
    The double box just restores the screen smaller - menus are sitll missing
    I installed on another PC and found the F8 toggles the menu on and off. This worked on the second installation but not on this one where im having the problem.
    Nuance support are no help.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Scansoft \ Nuance PDF Pro File Menu Problem

    My only other thought would be to lower the screen resolution to something like 800X600 and see if that brings them into view. I can't say that I hold out a lot of hope that it will work, but it's the only thing that comes to mind. I have version 9 on my system and can't duplicate your problem. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •