Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    server 2003 cmd console

    Document replaced by HansV with cropped version of the picture it contained - saves the reader several clicks.

    I have attached a screen dump of the cmd console window. Why is the patch directed to u:/ . Shouldn't it be automatically set to c:/ . Please can you help or advice how to change the path
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (2.7 KB, 0 views)

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Right-click the shortcut you use to start the command prompt and select Properties from the popup menu. Do you see U: mentioned in the Target or Start in boxes?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    When you load cmd it should start at c: automatically, but on my system it starts of at u:. Do I need to change anything on the server?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Did you try my suggestion?

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Cannot see c: named in anything. When I load CMD I go to start-run and typre CMD. Thanks for help

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    When I crated a short cut on the desktop for CMD , the path is set to c:. So why when I go start-run-cmd U appears . Please help, thanks

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    I asked whether you saw U: mentioned.

    Try setting the "Start in" property of the shortcut to C: as in the screenshot below.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (9.9 KB, 0 views)

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Hi its got %windir% in the start in . For the target it's got : %windir%system32CMD.exe .

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Hi I have created a desktop link for the CMD and changed the properties of that desktop link to start in c:. It works. But when I go through start-run-cmd it starts in u:. Please help , thanks for your time.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    You only have to type C: and press Enter to switch to the C: drive.

    Could you do the following:
    - Open a command prompt window.
    - Type set and press Enter.
    - You should see a list of environment variables, with windir at or near the end:
    <code>
    windir=...
    </code>
    What is the path of windir (after the =)?

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    the windir= c:windows . I know you can change it by typing in c: in the cmd window but we must be able to change it to defult c when clicking start-run CMD. Thanks mate

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    What is the value of HOMEDRIVE in the same list?

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Edited by HansV to replace Word doc with screenshot - saves some extra clicks

    Hi I have attached a screen dump of the cmd (set) . I know it's silly because you can just type in c: but just want to understand why it is set to u: . Thanks again for your time
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (16.6 KB, 1 views)

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    The first part of the list has scrolled up out of view, so I still don't know the value of HOMEDRIVE.

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Edited by HansV - once again <img src=/S/cranky.gif border=0 alt=cranky width=18 height=25> - to replace Word doc with screenshot
    Sorry attached again,

    cheers
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (11.5 KB, 0 views)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •