Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    server 2003 cmd console

    Document replaced by HansV with cropped version of the picture it contained - saves the reader several clicks.

    I have attached a screen dump of the cmd console window. Why is the patch directed to u:/ . Shouldn't it be automatically set to c:/ . Please can you help or advice how to change the path
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (2.7 KB, 0 views)

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Right-click the shortcut you use to start the command prompt and select Properties from the popup menu. Do you see U: mentioned in the Target or Start in boxes?

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    When you load cmd it should start at c: automatically, but on my system it starts of at u:. Do I need to change anything on the server?

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Did you try my suggestion?

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Cannot see c: named in anything. When I load CMD I go to start-run and typre CMD. Thanks for help

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    When I crated a short cut on the desktop for CMD , the path is set to c:. So why when I go start-run-cmd U appears . Please help, thanks

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    I asked whether you saw U: mentioned.

    Try setting the "Start in" property of the shortcut to C: as in the screenshot below.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (9.9 KB, 0 views)

  9. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Hi its got %windir% in the start in . For the target it's got : %windir%system32CMD.exe .

  10. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Hi I have created a desktop link for the CMD and changed the properties of that desktop link to start in c:. It works. But when I go through start-run-cmd it starts in u:. Please help , thanks for your time.

  11. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    You only have to type C: and press Enter to switch to the C: drive.

    Could you do the following:
    - Open a command prompt window.
    - Type set and press Enter.
    - You should see a list of environment variables, with windir at or near the end:
    <code>
    windir=...
    </code>
    What is the path of windir (after the =)?

  12. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    the windir= c:windows . I know you can change it by typing in c: in the cmd window but we must be able to change it to defult c when clicking start-run CMD. Thanks mate

  13. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    What is the value of HOMEDRIVE in the same list?

  14. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Edited by HansV to replace Word doc with screenshot - saves some extra clicks

    Hi I have attached a screen dump of the cmd (set) . I know it's silly because you can just type in c: but just want to understand why it is set to u: . Thanks again for your time
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (16.6 KB, 1 views)

  15. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    The first part of the list has scrolled up out of view, so I still don't know the value of HOMEDRIVE.

  16. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: server 2003 cmd console

    Edited by HansV - once again <img src=/S/cranky.gif border=0 alt=cranky width=18 height=25> - to replace Word doc with screenshot
    Sorry attached again,

    cheers
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (11.5 KB, 0 views)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •