Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Line above selected text (Word 2003)

    I am trying to insert a line above highlighted text using Borders, but just keep getting box surrounding selected text. Any help please

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Line above selected text (Word 2003)

    Welcome to Woody's Lounge!

    Word can only apply a top border to a paragraph or table cell, not to selected text - selected text is always boxed. You may be able to accomplish what you want by placing the text in a table cell, and applying a top border to that cell.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Line above selected text (Word 2003)

    Hans thank you for quick reply and information much appreciated. Ronan

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Line above selected text (Word 2003)

    Hi Ronan,

    It sounds as if what you're after is a macron (a diacritic
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Line above selected text (Word 2003)

    Hi macropod,

    > {EQ sup6(f(,a))}

    If I try this in my Dutch version of Word 2003, I only get "Fout" (= Dutch for "Error"). No idea what I'm doing wrong, typed it in very carefully. And yes, field braces were entered with Ctrl+F9.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Line above selected text (Word 2003)

    Dutch-languge systems expects a semi-colon ; instead of a comma , as separator.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Line above selected text (Word 2003)

    Thanks Hans, you hit the nail on the head again!

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Line above selected text (Word 2003)

    Micropod thank you for reply sorry for not answering sooner. I was looking for a horizontal line over a selected piece of text, but thank you for reply, Ronan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •