Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Text box (Word 2003)

    Hello all-

    I have a document with a text box that is longer than the actual 8.5 x 11 document. So what's happening is that hte text box is disappearing where it passes below the bottom margin.

    How can I make the text box break into 2 pieces iwth the remaining parts going on to the next page?


    Thanks,

    JMT

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    I have no idea whether that is possible. There is a way to link textboxes together so that text flows from one to the next. However, I don't know whether that is convenient for the user (i.e., whether the cursor magically moves to the second textbox).

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    > whether the cursor magically moves to the second textbox

    Yes, it does.

    (To link two text boxes, click in the first one, then click the button in the Text Box toolbar shown below, and finally click on the second one. The toolbar also contains buttons for "Next text box" and "Previous text box" that are only available if you have linked text boxes)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (2.7 KB, 3 views)

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    That's a neat trick, but what I really need is to find a way to somehow break up the textbox so that it splits in 2 whenever the bottom end is hanging over the end of a page. I need that bottom part to roll over to the next page. Anyone have a clue?

    Sincerely, JMT

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    Text boxes don't resize themselves automatically, so I see no way to do what you want.

    Why do you want a text box longer than one page?

    Perhaps it would be better to use a table, or else to use multiple columns.

    Added: sorry, text boxes do have an AutoFit to contents option. But I still don't think it's possible - at least not easily - to create a new linked text box when the box becomes too tall

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    Dear Hans,

    I need a textbox or otherwise a table or some other solution for texts lasting more than one page that needed to go into a box.

    In the attached document, the first entry is created as a table.

    The second entry is created as a texbox behind the writing.

    Both look similar, but the table actually allows itself to break at the end of the page and to continue on the next page. That is what I am going after. Notice how the textbox does not do that. It just abruptly ends.

    The table looks good, but there is just one problem. Word does not allow me to put the table as an entry within my outline. Note how the textbox is the entry that goes beside the Heading 2 "B." outline entry. I can't, however, put the table next to the Heading 2 "A." outline entry. I have to put the "A." inside of the table.

    Is there a way to get around that'

    Sincerely,

    JMT
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    Create a table with two columns. Put the letter (A, [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] in the narrow first column, and the actual text in the second, wider column. Shade the second column only.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    Dear Hans,

    That's EXACTLY the look I am going for. However, in the table of contents, the entry in Column 1 shows up as one entry and that in column 2 shows up as another, even though they should show up as one line (i.e., "A. Rule 611. Mode and Order of Interrogation and Presentation"). See attached.

    Is there a way to get them on one line in the TOC??

    Thank you,

    JMT
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    Hi JMT

    See attached. The secret to this solution is to put a shaded autoshape behind a separate first row, which holds your heading and is merged.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    Thanks Macropod, that's basically what I am looking for. But why is it that even when I choose the same fill color for both the autoshape and the 2nd row, the autoshape comes out to be slightly darker?

    Also, if I mess up and later decide that I want to change all of the shading to lighter grey or no grey, is there a shortcut, or do I have to go through all 85 tables and autoshapes and do it separately?

    JMT

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Text box (Word 2003)

    Hi JMT,

    The fill colour differences may be because the cell shades and autoshape shades aren't all the same. From memory, I think there's one that's 12.5% grey while the other is 10% or 15%.

    And yes, if you later decide to change the lot, they'd have to be done individually. You could automate it with a macro but, unless you had many to do and/or this was likely not to be a one-off occurrence, it probably wouldn't be worth the effort.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •