3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

true vector problems (xp -current)

This morning I got a msg saying Zone Alarm needed updates - I said ok while that was happening I got a message from "Spyware Dr" saying it needed to be updated - I replied ok
    Since then nothing has worked - I have sent at least a dozen messages to microsoft reporting some type of true vector problems msg "TrueVector Service has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

I am sure the clash between "Zone Alarm" and "Spyware Dr" caused the problems, but I haven't been able to recover

ZA won't install because it says it can't access true vector and I am pretty sure that SD has taken over system - ctl-alt-del shows system bouncing between 0 % and 90+%

I am relatively new to xp - converted from 2000

I think there is a way to fall back to an earlier point, but I don't know how to do it - can someone give me a few words about falling back so I can try to get back to stable system

Thanks in advance

Tom

Thanks

Re: true vector problems (xp -current)

Tom,
    True Vector is a Zone Alarm program, not Microsoft. So, asking MS about it will probably not get any response beyond maybe telling you to contact ZoneLabs.

I would go to the ZONE ALARM site and download the latest version, then uninstall the existing version of ZA using "AddRemove" in Control Panel.
    Install the new version you just downloaded and that should take care of the problem.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif

Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

thanks I will try that - I dug out the manuals and tried to do a system restore to yesterday - but got a message saying it could not restore to yesterday because it could not find anything changed

Tom

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Bob