Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Restore (SP2)

    I've discovered SR is no longer working - when the restore process concludes I always get a message to the effect that the system cannot be restored to ... (date) ..., whatever the date involved. Would appreciate any pointers as to what has gone wrong.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Other than suggesting you search Google with the string "system cannot be restored", I think you'll be lucky to find someone on the Lounge who has encountered the same problem as you. Of its very nature, system restores are rarely performed, and problems with them are even more infrequent...

    Sorry!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    John's probably right, Nick, as in my case I don't use the feature. I just wanted to point you toward two places to look.

    Microsoft: How to troubleshoot the System Restore tool

    Kelly's Korner: Windows XP Tweaks (See Line 278 and 289)

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Hi Nick

    Wwweeell, I am obviously one of those rare Loungers who has used it, and successfully to boot. I have used in on a couple of occasions when my drivers were mucked up by a test application.

    By default the System Restore option is on. To check if you have got automatic System Restore goto System in your Control Panel and then click on System Restore, the option for "Turn Off System Restore" should not be ticked.

    If it is unticked , you should have system restores every 24 hours or if the PC is off, it will restore next time you switch on or the PC becomes active. Does that help?
    Jerry

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Thanks for your suggestion, John. I admit it's a last resort, but nice to have as a possibility,

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Thanks Al, despite it being a last resort I would like to have SR working.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Thanks for your input, Jerry. I has also saved my bacon in the past. It's definitely on in the settings, and producing the daily restore points, but recently won't work when I actually call upon it to restore to an earlier date.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    OK, sounds like some Cornish Elves have got in there. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> There are some applications that cause this to fail mainly as they require exclusive disc access. Some applications that could be tinkering are your Anti-virus software or Windows Media player.

    Other things that may be a problem is a bad sector on the disc, you could do a Scan Disk (it may ask you to restart so it can access the disc exclusively).
    Jerry

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Thanks once again, Jerry. Btw, Cornish elves are called "piskies" - and they be right problematic ;-)

    I may indeed have a problem with the latest upgrade of ZA Suite. Will let you know if this solves it.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Even 10 miles away you would be a "stranger", wouldn't you. Not that I can talk - born and bred in New Zealand, but lived in the UK for over 3 decades. I certainly don't have two generations buried in the local churchyard to meet the definition of being a "local".

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> I should have known the bit about piskies considering my roots come from approximately 10 mile NE of you
    Jerry

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    By any chance, do you have a Norton 2007 or 2006 product installed?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Nick~
    Also check if the Service is started by going to Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services. Scroll down to these two lines and make sue they are set to AUTOMATIC and are started.

    SYSTEM RESTORE

    and a dependency,

    REMOTE PROCEDURE CALL (RPC)

    If either is not set to Auto, right click on it, then properties. On the startup type line, click the drop down and select Automatic. Also Start ( if this service, if necessary OK out.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Thanks for your reply, John. I don't have any Norton product, but am investigating the possibility that the latest upgrade of ZoneAlarm Security Suite has set the problem off.

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rosevine
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (SP2)

    Thanks for your help, Bob.

    System Restore was already set to Auto. However, Remote Procedure Call (RPC) although started, had the Startup type box greyed out, so could not be changed, but was in fact already showing "Automatic" in the greyed out field.

    I see there is also an item: Remote Procedure Call (Locator) - which is set to Manual. Is the setting for this one also relevant?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •