Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    I just installed a new Samsung 931BW LCD monitor for a client on their Win XP machine. The native resolution for this monitor is supposed to be 1440x900, but the maximum resolution in the Display Properties was 1280x1024. I browsed around the advanced settings in the Display Properties and one tab (duh... can't remember which one) had an icon of a monitor with a check in the box for CRT, which is what they were using before hooking up the LCD. I couldn't uncheck that box, so that might be an indication of the problem or perhaps not?

    Normally, no drivers are needed to be installed with these beasts, at least not in the years I have installed them. So, what could be the problem? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

    Strange that I installed this same monitor on a brand new Vista system and the native resolution was found by default, just like I would have expected.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Jeff,
    The most likely reason for your situation is that the new monitor drivers are either not installed or not accessed. In the most general case, one would install a new monitor by first uninstalling the old monitor, then loading the new monitor drivers, then at system boot have the system recognize the new plug and play monitor and use the new drivers for that monitor. Finally, the resolution would be set for the native resolution of the monitor if that did not happen automatically.

    Another possibility is that on older machines the display adapter may simply not be able to accommodate the higher resolution. In your case if the system still thinks it is talking to a 1280 x 1024 monitor then It may be using either a generic driver or the old driver. So I guess the question to you is did you load the new monitor drivers?

    Paul

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Paul,

    I did what I have always done, which may be incorrect.

    - Shut down the PC
    - Unplug the CRT
    - Plugin the LCD
    - Startup the PC

    No drivers were installed, although the monitor did come with a drivers CD. I've never installed drivers for a LCD monitor. hehe Maybe I should start doing that? <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/embarrassed.gif>

    Sooooo, assuming that the drivers do need to be installed, can they be installed with the monitor already hooked up since the CRT is gone? I'm thinking that I could install the drivers, and simply reboot and hopefully, they will be recognized on bootup.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Jeff,
    You have been lucky in the past and chances are you never installed a monitor with 1440 columns of resolution. Exact sequences of installation can often be bypassed so you might luck out, but some monitors want the drivers installed before the hardware is attached. You can try updating the drivers from the device manager window (rt click monitor and click update driver)

    The sequence that has the highest probability of success is:
    Uninstall the current monitor - system icon, properities, hardware, device mgr, monitor, rt click and uninstall
    Reboot with old monitor and load the drivers for new display
    Power OFF
    Plug in new monitor
    Power ON monitor
    Power on Computer
    If the system does not find the new drivers Browse to them
    Set the resolution to native new monitor resolution -right clk desktop, properities, settings, screen resolution

    Paul

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Do you have an Nvidia graphics card?

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Leif,

    No, it's onboard video: VIA/S3G Unichrome 1GP

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Woops - you did say so too!

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    How about this thread at Viarena?

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Yeh, how about that thread!! <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> It didn't offer much of anything other than it seemed to confirm that the problem is what I originally suspected; video drivers aren't capable of rendering the necessary resolution, despite the fact that they are allegedly capable of doing so. And the original poster was left hanging without a resolution.

    Methinks that there are only two choices left at this point: 1) buy a PCI video card or 2) return the monitor.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Paul,

    Okay..... followed your destructions to the letter and no success! I updated the video drivers; onboard VIA/S3G Unichrome 1GP, rebooted and went around and around with this thing, but no matter what I did there is no widescreen resolutions available in the Display Properties. The only thing that comes to mind at this point is that this particular onboard video is incompatible with widescreen monitors. Is that possible? In the Display Properties the correct monitor is recognized as are the monitor drivers. And if is of any importance, although both the Analog and Digital drivers have been installed, the monitor is running in Analog mode. I've also tried installing just one and then the other also.

    At this point I simply do not know where to go from here. What else can be done? I've uninstalled and re-installed both the video drivers and monitor drivers at least half dozen times. This is on a 2-year old XP SP-2 machine that is squeaky clean. <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    >> And the original poster was left hanging without a resolution... <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Jeff,

    Hate when that happens! <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>

    Success depends on the right monitor drivers and a video adapter with the capabilities to drive the monitor. You have beat the first one into submission so I suspect the video adapter is not designed to handle a 1440 monitor. As I know nothing about the onboard adapter you are dealing with, you will have to dig up some info on its capabilities to confirm. Your options most likely are to replace the monitor with a 1280 LC monitor or, as you suggested, get a display adapter card that can support this resolution. I would personally prefer the latter if it were my machine.

    Paul

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wide Screen LCD Resolution

    Yeh, I hear you. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/rj/wall_nut.gif>

    1) New video card ordered which will make things better than she was hoping for. It's a fair to middling card compared to the current array of cards available but one which I have had enormous success with; EVGA GeForce FX5500. It is one of "those" where you get a lot of bang for the buck.

    2) I did some reading on the Samsung website support section and they explicitly state that no drivers are necessary for their LCD monitors when either XP or Vista is involved. They do have an updated driver for Vista but all that does is change the "Generic Plug & Play" recognition in the Display Properties to the actual name and model of the monitor. The file is only 58 KB.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •