Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need compatibile AV & Firewall (Home Basic)

    I removed the Symantec 60-day trial, am using the 90-day trial of OneCare.
    I have been migrated from Adelphia to RoadRunner...and Vista isn't compatibile with the RR's Security software (for now, at least).
    I don't really feel secure with the OneCare's AV. BTW, the Windows built-in firewall is ON.
    I need suggestions for <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> antivirus and firewalls and the proper procedures of WHEN to 'install' these 2 software programs (1. d/l software ; 2. DON"T run software;3. uninstall OneCare;4.reboot <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>;5.run firewall first or av?)...you get the picture <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    I don't want resource hogs...automatic updates for AV is perfect (and frequent).
    Thanks for any and all help.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Need compatibile AV & Firewall (Home Basic)

    See Free antivirus - avast! 4 Home Edition and AVG Free Advisor: AVG Anti-Virus Free for a/v. The only <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> firewall available for Vista right now that I know of is PC Tools Firewall Plus - Free Personal Firewall for Windows. You should consider using the Vista firewall. It will be activated if you uninstall OneCare. Your steps for installing different software seem correct to me. The order of a/v or firewall should not make any difference.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need compatibile AV & Firewall (Home Basic)

    Lonnie,

    Here's my <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/2centsroll.gif>

    AV
    1) Pay: Kaspsersky Antivirus 6 [highest detection rate of any AV program available, small, low profile, easy configurability which isn't really necessary, excellent support, up to 15 updates daily]
    2) Free: Antivir Antivirus [excellent detection rates]

    Firewall
    1) Vista's own firewall should be sufficient, if you fall on the "paranoid" side then:
    2) Buy a simple router (assuming you are on some kind of broadband connection]. It's a no brainer to install; plugin it in, no configuration needed, no annoying popups, etc.)

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need compatibile AV & Firewall (Home Basic)

    I took the plunge! Downloaded the AVG one. from Grisoft. The other one was too complicated and I read all the various problems on their Forum...so since I had tried AVG from Grisoft before, I decided to stick with what I knew.
    Firewall = Vista Windows built-in, along with Windows Defender. The link you gave me...read all about it, too confusing ! I actually felt the hairs standup on my arms while reading everything. Guess I'm a 'fraidy cat'...
    Thanks for the suggestions.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need compatibile AV & Firewall (Home Basic)

    See my post to Joe.
    Router? That's way beyond my scope of technology! <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>. I've heard of routers, but I really don't think I need one...I practice safe hex.
    Thanks for your suggestions.
    When and if, RoadRunner's Security software becomes compatibile with Vista...I might switch to that...all depends on their software, etc.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need compatibile AV & Firewall (Home Basic)

    Yes, safe hex... I only go to 30 sites during the day - all in my 'Trusted Zone' and read maybe 10 emails a month (if that many) and these emails are from people/utility sites ('payment is due-type) that are listed in my 'friendslist' in MailwasherPro. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>.
    I've never had a baddie in 7 years using a computer. I lead a very boring computer life. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need compatibile AV & Firewall (Home Basic)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Leif on 28-Mar-07 16:22. To remove a somewhat excessively large in-line graphic!)</P>1) A router is simply a small box with a power cord and some "ports" (aka: plug holes). You connect one cord to the router and modem and the other to the router and your PC. Basically, that's it. No fuss, no muss. But IMHO, you should be fine with the Vista firewall.... as I wrote in my previous reply, IF you are of the paranoid type, then a router would be just the thing.

    2) I'm sorry to hear that you went with AVG. It is NOT very high on the list for virus detection compared to several others. Of course you did say you practice "safe hex", but nevertheless, you are still going to be vulnerable.

    Truly, I wish you the best despite your decision. I've had to cleanup many a PC that was running AVG which had become infected. Fortunately, Kaspersky found all the nasties and eradicated them!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Need compatibile AV & Firewall (Home Basic)

    A router comes after the modem, and if you have an up-to-date ADSL modem then it may have a built-in firewall and you can skip the router unless you need it. Check the documentation for your modem.

    With either a modem firewall or a router firewall it is advisable to change the address from the default, since anyone can look up the default. In both cases these are hardware firewalls, rather than software. You normally add software as well.

    You only need a router (or a switch, which is typically faster and more expensive, but unprotected) if you have a network.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need compatibile AV & Firewall (Home Basic)

    I only have the modem that my cable company supplied. Motorola SB5101.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •