Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    sporadic scanner communication

    (Pentium 4 2ghz, 1g byte of ram, Win XP Home + I've got a Canon Canoscan 1442U scanner, that when left idle with the the system running or placed in standby ceases communicating...that is it operates fine, but after left unattended and unused, and I attempt to scan additional images, it gives me a communication error stating that I should close the "canon tool box" check the USB cable and try again. I've removed and reloaded the drivers from the Canon site with little success, and the USB cable is fine. Any similar problems and/or solutions?

    Regards,
    Marty
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    Marty,

    Open Device Manager (click Start | Run, type DEVMGMT.MSC and hit Enter), in Device Manager window expand (click + sign on the left of) "Universal Serial Bus controllers", right-click "USB Root Hub" and from pop-up menu select Properties. On Properties window, click "Power Management" tab and uncheck "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" checkbox. Click OK. If you have more than one USB hub listed, repeat these steps for each hub. Close Device Manager.

    Good luck!

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    You're one step ahead of me, Marty! I have a Canon 8400F and it hardly ever gets used, so it sits there idle through many days. Sometimes I get ready to use it and it works just fine, although my occasional use is usually just one-three pages. On the other hand, "sometimes" (like yesterday!) I start to scan, get one page OK and then I get some kind of "...can't communicate with the scanner..." message from XP. On other occasions, I try to scan and can't even get the first page without the communication message. My solution in either case has been a fresh warm-boot and the communication problem goes away.

    As I said, I haven't even bothered to check if there are newer drivers, but I suspect since we have different models, that might not be the problem. I've chalked it up to a "USB sleeping" problem, but I think now I WILL go see if there are newer drivers.

    Let's see if anyone else chimes in here...

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    Hi,

    I've had similar problems with my HP scanner where I am sharing the USB port via an unpowered 4 port hub. In short, the scanner does not like to share. Re-seating the USB port does the trick.

    (But the basic problem is that my machine does not have enough USB ports for the number of devices that I want to run)

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    None of us has said any more in this thread for some time, but here I am again! I really do hardly ever use my scanner but I have this failure problem about every other time I use the devil. Back when this thread was active, I followed Kaplin's advice and un-checked all the power management tick marks in Device Manager, so that isn't the problem. I did just now check the Canon site and my driver for the 8400 which is 10.2.1.0 has been replaced by 10.2.2.0 so I guess I'd better unplug the scanner (which I think is necessary) and update the drivers.

    This morning I had two single sheet pages I needed to print a copy of so I opened the Canon toolbox. The first sheet copied and went to the printer without a problem. As it started the second, I got the attached error. I rebooted the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> system three times and the error kept on. Finally, on the fourth boot, I was able to get a print. I don't know whether the problem is with XP's handling or the Canon drivers, so I keep trying.

    If anyone has anything else they can say that might be helpful, I'd appreciate it.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    Hi Al,
    I think that one area to look at could be USB cable length and quality. As we know the USB specification has a limit on the length of the cable, and even though that is 3 or 5 meters, a short 1.8 m (~6") cable, or less, could be a real improvement.

    I don't know about all printers & scanners, but in many cases there is no USB cable delivered with the device, so people just use what they have or buy a cheap one.

    That's about USB and cables. A little reading on the subject tells me that some have found that the only working solution is to step down to USB1 (1.1). It could be done as a test. Then I read somewhere that Canon recommend using the built-in USB2 ports, i.e. adding a USB2 card to an older PC could have some issues. I know this is not your case since I've read that you have a new machine.

    As to general troubleshooting when uninstalling & reinstalling drivers and software it could be worth to look at the method described in my <post:=475,091>post 475,091</post:> about non present devices and Device Manager.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    Al,
    Here are two links to forums that discuss your error and Canon scanners (or the problem with sometimes only 2-3 scans completed).

    Problem connecting a scanner (at PC Review Forum). Two pages.

    Canon Scanners not working on USB2 (at Everything USB Forum)

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    Hello Argus, and thanks for your two posts! I don't know yet if loading the latest driver from Canon is going to help for I've not had any scanning to do lately. You're correct, as demonstrated by those threads you found, that this does seem to be a very common problem. Well, the cable I have attached is a relatively short one that came with the scanner, so I don't think it's cable length. The scanner is on a table right in front of the computer which is on the floor and there isn't any excess length in the cable. I'm not going to investigate the case of trying to drop "back" to USB 1.0 for a problem so occasional as this, so I guess that one's out the window, so to speak. I do have the USB ports set NOT to power down.

    Maybe I'll try a few test scans tonight to see if the driver update helped. Hey, thanks for digging...

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    One more, Argus. I don't know if it's indicative of the sporadic nature of the problem, or whether my driver update did some good! I just did a series of 8 or 10 scans with nary a problem or error message. So, I'll continue to keep an eye on the machine to see what happens from now on...

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    OK. From an end-user perspective I truly can understand that the best/simplest/cheapest solution is if a driver update solves it.

    I understand that since you do not use it so often, it isn't a major problem (even if it did, the times you indeed used it). Since I am a curious nature, I probably would have experimented with changing USB speed in BIOS, but just for test purpose. I don't think nobody would like to have to step down for all their USB connections, permanently.

    Your cable must be OK since it's both short (or not longer than necessary) and delivered together with the scanner.

    Well, let's hope the problem goes away (or as it seems stays away).

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sporadic scanner communication

    And just let me say again: Thanks for keeping me in mind!

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='kaplinb' post='640991' date='27-Mar-2007 20:45']... click "Power Management" tab and uncheck ...[/quote]

    Thank You!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •