Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Trusted Site (I.E 7 Pro)

    I've been going to ask thisquestion for some time now. when searching AKA surfing web, I will get a pop up showing me the current site, and the trusted site. For example Microsoft.com and Search. microsoft.com. If I click on yes, of course the sites load and I will go ahead and go to tools then click on Add to trusted sites. All to often though the site is all ready in my trusted list but I get that question anyway. So I will write the url down and add it. Is there away other than lowering my security settings to enter in this information rathr than writing it down and then entering it? OR is there a way to add all of Microsoft?
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Trusted Site (I.E 7 Pro)

    In versions 5-6, you could entire the a wildcard in the leftmost portion of the domain (<code>*.microsoft.com</code>) to trust all microsoft.com hosts. Not sure whether IE7 allows/recognizes that.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Trusted Site (I.E 7 Pro)

    Thanks will give that a try
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Trusted Site (I.E 7 Pro)

    Why do you need to do this at all? I use IE7 on all XP & Vista machines and have no trusted sites but get no such prompts. Have you used a custom security level?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Trusted Site (I.E 7 Pro)

    I think the poster is referring to a feature that first appeared in the XP SP2 version of IE6: in some situations, if site #1 navigates to site #2 and site #2 is in the Trusted Zone, IE displays a dialog asking for confirmation that it's okay for site #1 to do that.

    Improvements in Windows XP SP2: How Internet Explorer is safer under the hood in XP SP2 @ Zone Elevation Blocks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •