Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    DLL Register (6.00.2900.2180 SP2)

    A library file that I tried to reregister generated an error message.

    mshtml.dll = loaded, but DLL Register Sevice entry point was not found. This file cannot be registered. Three others succeeded. The unsuccesful dll is the Microsoft HTML Viewer. Is that an essential dll, if so what should I do so that it can be registered?

    I was following directions found in the Outlook Express basic repair kit.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: DLL Register (6.00.2900.2180 SP2)

    Gloria,
    1.Did you go to Start>Run and type in resvr32 mshtml.dll ?

    2.Try copying the DLL from your WFP folder to your WindowsSystem32 folder.

    Check out more info at this site: MSHTML ERROR
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DLL Register (6.00.2900.2180 SP2)

    What folder is the WFP? I never heard of one with those initialis.

    I found one in system 32, properties says it's 3.41MB Version 7.0.6.16414.

    If I could just run sfc, it might fix everything.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DLL Register (6.00.2900.2180 SP2)

    Sorry, I left out something I should have told you.

    Yes that's the way I typed the dll file name in RUN. There were 3 others that reregisterd successfully.

    The MSHTML ERROR link you sent me explains in one of the posts that the entry point was removed in IE7. Therefore I can forget about getting it registered.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: DLL Register (6.00.2900.2180 SP2)

    WFP is "Windows File Protection".
    NOTE THIS: it is part of SFC!!!

    Maybe that 's why scannow isn't working?
    It's should be in your Root directory but I had moved it to my F Drive,

    Check this out to enable WFP. Maybe you have it disabled and that's why SFC is kapaut also.

    ENABLE WFP

    This says how to disable it. Just reverse the steps to enable it.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DLL Register (6.00.2900.2180 SP2)

    I found SFC in C:Windowssystem32, and I copied it to: C:. Will try to run it before I do anything else.
    I'm working on Enable WFP, it's a little confusing but I will get it done.

    Thanks for the heads up.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DLL Register (6.00.2900.2180 SP2)

    After doing a lot of different things I went to Run and typed in at the command prompt, sfc scannow. It opened and a blinking cursor is sitting at Cocuments and SettingsOwner>sfc scannow. Something else has to be entered before I can use sfc. What should I enter to make it run? I think Douments and Settings is incorrect.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: DLL Register (6.00.2900.2180 SP2)

    Did you type in <big>SFC /scannow </big> with the backslash and the space between SFC and / ?

    The basic premise is that you locate the I386 folder in a location such as the root C: drive.
    Then checkmodify the registry at the locations mentioned in the link I pointed you to, to have it agree with that location. That is you enter it as just C: <big>not as C:I386</big> .

    If I remember right, there are a couple of registry locations to check.

    Again, the link is : SFC

    ( I don't see what the Documents and Settings location has to do with it.)
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DLL Register (6.00.2900.2180 SP2)

    Yes, that's the wayI typed it.

    I386 is located on my computer as c:

    I printed Scannow sfc and followed it straight through, making necessary changes as I went. I don't know if the Dllcache is corrupted or not and the article didn't state how to fix it. I can see the folder, it's c:Windowssystem32.

    For the workaround, I copied I386 from the Windows XP CD to C: (not to C:I386). The SourcePatj was E: and I changed it to C:.

    Next in the article: Other Problems with scannow sfc.
    Checked everything and when I reached #6, and followed the registry path, under Windows NT there was no File Protection shown. There was only Terminal Services..

    Under #7 of the article,
    SFCDisable, under Modify had a zero, so I left it alone.
    SFCScan, under Modify was changed from a zero to a one.

    Please tell me if I've made some wrong changes or made some errors in what I have done.

    I presumed that Documents and Setting was the wrong place to run SFC because when I typed in sfc /scannow, nothing happened except it repeated the path with the blinking cursor, but there were no error messages, it just didn't run the program.

    I hope I have explained clearly what I have done so that you can understand. Frankly, SFC is running me crazy and it doesn't have far to go to complete the job.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •