Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Invalid Page Fault (XP Home-sp2)

    Small architectural program - Modeler section - makes symbols in 3-view, then converts them to 3D display that can be turned and moved around.
    Keep getting Invalid Page Fault - Application error - The instruction at "0x5ed196b3" referenced memory at "0x5ed196b3" - the memory could not be "read".
    Reporting this to the program creators results in them sending me a complete new version of the program, which is generous, but the problem remains.
    My guess is that I sometimes add new information to an older file of the same time, but I don't know what to do to solve the problem, as this program has been used for more than
    five years with many many revisions by me, and updates by the manufacturers of the program. Does anyone have a clue how to get rid of the dreaded Invalid page faults which lock up'
    the computer and irritate me like crazy? Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Invalid Page Fault (XP Home-sp2)

    Is this the same program that you've been having problems with ever since WAY back at <post:=349,404>post 349,404</post:> a few years ago? That was when you were using Win98 and if these kinds of problems are still around in WinXP I'd have to say that the program leaves a lot to be desired. Sorry, but I don't have any suggestions at this time.

    You could, of course, try running a "plain vanilla" machine by shutting down everything that's running (MSCONFIG) to see if the program still generates this kind of problem.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Page Fault (XP Home-sp2)

    I guess what I should have asked is what Invalide Page Fault means, and what part of Windows should I shut down to see if it goes away?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Invalid Page Fault (XP Home-sp2)

    Wow, if you want a LOT of reading to do, just do a Google on "invalid page fault site:microsoft.com" and you'll get enough reading to keep you busy for quite some time.

    On the other hand, if you want to start with something a little more general, try: How to fix an invalid page fault

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Page Fault (XP Home-sp2)

    Now, THAT'S what I was hoping for!! Thanks again, as usual.
    /as fir Microsoft...........I should have bought a Mac in the first place.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Invalid Page Fault (XP Home-sp2)

    > what I should have asked is what Invalide Page Fault means

    I'll try to describe this as simply as I can, but it is quite a complex subject.

    Each computer program can see more memory than your computer actually has. This is done by allocating a certain amount of physical memory and using disk storage for the rest. So, each page of virtual memory exists as either physical memory or somewhere on disk. When a program tries to access virtual memory that is currently on disk, a page fault occurs. The operating system allocates a bit of real physical memory and fetches the data from disk. This is a perfectly normal event and is not an error.

    Some parts of the operating system, such as device drivers, need to be able to access virtual memory with a guarantee that a page fault won't happen. They run in a mode in which page faults are not allowed. If a page fault happens when running in this mode then you get an "Invalid Page Fault" error. The most common cause of this is some kind of data corruption which causes a program to use the wrong memory address, but it can also be caused by a programming error in a piece of privileged code.

    > what part of Windows should I shut down to see if it goes away?

    That's a really tough question. Any recently installed privileged software, such as device drivers or virus scanners maybe.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Invalid Page Fault (XP Home-sp2)

    <hr>...I should have bought a Mac in the first place... <hr>
    That's something I won't touch with a ten foot pole! <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19> <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Page Fault (XP Home-sp2)

    Thanks Big Al and Stuart - I'll see what I can do with the good info. At leasst I have an idea why things are going nuts. appreciate all the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •