3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

another dvd / rw question (xp - current)

I am an antique main frame programmer who is surviving in the world of servers and PC's, but I am looking for info on DVD's.

i understand that dvd's / cd's don't have cylinders - tracks - records etc. I have been told that the dvd /cd's write in a spiral from either the enter or the edge of the platter. This raises these questions -

Does a RW DVD have to rewrite all the data on the DVD when a new file is added?

I don't think one has to format write new dvd's - but just guessing on that (seems like that is a procedure from the dark ages)

I tried creating a DVD on my new box with little to no success. The Dell box came with a Roxio package that leaves much to be desired in the area of help / instructions. After giving up on writing (I think it worked - but not sure) - I continually get a little message on reboots saying that something needs to finish writing the dvd.

Does anyone have a instruction web site - pdf - wikipedia - or google entry that will at least get me started?

I feel like "Well I bought the box, the dvd burner, and a pack of +/- RW dvd's - therefore: I should figure out how to use the stupid thing"

Tom

Silver Lounger
    Thanks

Re: another dvd / rw question (xp - current)

Yes, data on CDs and DVDs are written along a spiral path of the laser beam, starting from the center and going towards the edge. BUT - there is a special zone closer to the center, which is designated for special information about data written on the disk (similar to Master Boot Record on floppy disks). When you want to add a file to rewritable optical disc, everything depends how previous information ("session") was formatted: there are several possibilities (the session is open, the session is closed, the disc is finalized). If the disc is finalized, you must to erase all previous data and rewrite it (most of the programs will prompt you to erase such disc before use it for burning).