Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Burpengary, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    Hi Gurus,

    Have a little problem. An access database is sent to me and I am required to manually fill in the information. I already have all the information required in an Excel spreadsheet. Yes I know it should be easy - just open the Access Database and import the information from Excel - yes? No!

    The external database is (I presume) set to only allow form view - I have tried Hans' suggestion of shift open - this still does not allow me any access to toolbars etc so I don't quite know how to get around it.

    Rather frustrating when I know it really should be fairly easy to do.

    However, I'm not too familiar with access so any help would be appreciated.

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    I don't know if the following will work, but it's worth a try:
    - Create a blank new database.
    - Use File | Get External Data | Link Tables to link to the target table in the "problem" database.
    If you succeed, you can either try to copy/paste the records from Excel into the linked table, or link to the Excel data too and create an append query to transfer the data.

    Note: I'd create a backup copy of the "problem" database before trying the above, so you can start over if things go wrong.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Burpengary, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    I think there might be a problem with my Access - don't have drop down menus at all

    Help!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    Not even if you start Access by itself?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Burpengary, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    nope

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    Sounds like a run-time version?
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    You may have to do a repair installation of Access or Office...

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    Hey, good thinking!

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Burpengary, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    Finally figured out a way to do it. Have added in the drop down menus manually and they appear to be sticking so far.

    Now I just have to complete the import.

    Thanks so much for all your help.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    Great! How did you manage to add the menus?

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Burpengary, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    Hey Hans,

    I went through (as I do) and looked at the customised menus - mainly because I knew there had to be a way to add them in somehow - if I had to be a bit creative then so be it - sometimes doing a lot of word menu customisation comes in handy !

    I then added the drop down menus to a new toolbar and voila - it works.

    Toolbar Options, Add or Remove Buttons, Customise and we're in business.

    Thanks for your help.

    BTW - Australian English for those who may object <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> - customise v customize

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Convert from Excel to Access (2003)

    OK, thanks. So you still had some toolbars - I was afraid you had nothing at all, which would have made it difficult to get to the Customize dialog.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •