Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    internet access (home premium)

    How does one go about preventing a piece of software form accessing the internet, when the software is run ??

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: internet access (home premium)

    Well, Microsoft claims that Windows Firewall in Vista is a genuine "2-way" firewall, i.e., it can block both incoming and outgoing requests. However, I cannot verify that it actually works as claimed in regard to outgoing. What I can suggest you do is go to the Control Panel/Security Center applet and click on "Windows Firewall" on the left. In the new window that opens, click on "Allow a program through Windows Firewall", again on the left. Look for the program you want to block in the list and if there is a check in the box beside it, uncheck it.

    Other than that, you are going to have to either disable what is accessing the Internet in the program itself or install one of the Vista-compatible 3rd-party software firewalls.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: internet access (home premium)

    In addition with what Jeff had to say, it will help if you were to tell us, what program you are trying to block, as some have internal settings to prevent this from happening.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: internet access (home premium)

    You may also find this article of interest. With Vista Business, the amount of configurability of Windows Firewall varies with Network Settings. On that basis, it could well be that tweaks that work on my installation may not apply for yours...
    Gre

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: internet access (home premium)

    That won't block outbound access. Unfortunately, with the Vista firewall outbound access is always granted by default. This is just the opposite of all the third party firewalls that I know. See the article link in <post:=644,683>post 644,683</post:> for more information. You must go to Control Panel > System and Maintenance > Administrative Tools > Windows Firewall with Advanced Security to be able to configure outbound access.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: internet access (home premium)

    Joe,

    Thanks for pointing out that information about configuring "rules" for the Windows Vista Firewall..... I lernt sumthin noo and usefull. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/crazy2.gif>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •