Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Line on monitor display

    One of my computers sometimes displays a thin vertical green line in one particular spot on the screen. It's always in the same place, always the same color and size...but it does not always appear. It appears as soon as Windows starts. If I immediately reboot, it usually goes away. Then it'll return (maybe) next time I reboot. I don't think it's the monitor. I've connected the same monitor to another computer, and the line never shows up.

    Any ideas...?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Line on monitor display

    Graphics adapter perhaps? Have you tried another monitor on this computer?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Line on monitor display

    I agree with John.
    Or do you have a spare video ( graphics ) card to substitute temporarily?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Line on monitor display

    LCD or CRT monitor?

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Line on monitor display

    Have you been inside of your tower lately? Maybe the graphic card needs to be re-seated? <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Line on monitor display

    Hm-m-m...haven't checked the seating. Good idea! Thanx!

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Line on monitor display

    CRT.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Line on monitor display

    Lucas,
    You may have solved your problem by now and if so you may want to let us know how.

    You have a most uncommon problem - a vertical line on a crt monitor. We can be sure that the monitor cable and the monitor itself are not the cause as there is no physical mechanism in their functioning that can produce your symptom. The problem is inside your computer and the usual suspect is the display adapter. Some additional information may help localize the problem, however. When you run your system with your typical applications and the vertical line is present:

    Is the position of the vertical line always the same?
    Is the color always the same or does it change hue depending on what is on your screen ?
    Is the width of the line always the same and about how may pixels wide is it ? Is it stable or a bit jittery?
    Do you have a display adapter card or is your video subsystem integrated on your motherboard?

    One diagnostic you might try is to do a screen capture when the vertical line is showing and post it here (hit the Print Screen key or PrtSc key and paste into Microsoft Paint and save as GIF). This "image" may or may not show the vertical line and that may tell us something about where in the data stream the problem exists. Another diagnostic is turning off the hardware overlay on your graphics accelerator should you have one and see if that makes the problem disappear. Being an uncommon problem this may be hard to pinpoint.

    Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •