Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 52
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Update Problem

    I received this message while attempting to use Windows Update.

    The website has encountered a problem and cannot display the page you are trying to view.

    Methods of fixing the problem appeared when I tried to forward the message to a friend.

    "To continue, you must first add this website to your trusted sites in IE. The site cannot determine which updates apply to your computer or display those updates unless you change your security settings to make this site a trusted website. Your security setting will continue to block potentially harmful ActiveX controls and scripting from other sites but you will be able to get updates."

    I made the suggested change but the problem remains. The problem existed when I was using IE 6, I have upgraded back to IE7 and I still can't use Windows Update. Microsoft allowed me to contact tech support by email at no charge. I'm awaiting their reply. I also did a search on the Lounge, but no relevant subject was found..
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    Gloria,
    I had received the following from Microsoft a while back but saved it for future reference.
    --------------------------

    You encountered certain difficulies updating Windows.

    If you are running Ad-aware, ZoneAlarm, PC-Cillin, Norton Antivirus, Norton
    Internet Security, Norton Personal Firewall, McAfee, Proxomitron pop-up
    blocker, Ad Muncher, web accelerator e.g. "Slipstream", I would recommend you
    to temporarily disable or shut down any of these installed on your syst
    em and try accessing Windows Update site. Be sure to enable them again when
    you complete the update process.

    Suggestion 1:
    =========
    In order to resolve this issue, we need to register the ActiveX control files
    needed to access the Windows Update Site. We need to do this since the error
    can occur if these files are unregistered on your system. To do this you can
    try the instructions provided below:

    Note: There is a Single Space between the regsvr32 command and the file name
    JSCRIPT.DLL . The same goes with all the commands provided below.

    1. Click on Start, point to "Run"
    2. Type in "regsvr32 JSCRIPT.DLL" (without double quotes) and click
    Ok.
    3. Type in "regsvr32 MSXML3.DLL" (without double quotes) and click
    Ok.
    4. Type in "regsvr32 ATL.DLL" (without double quotes) and click
    Ok.
    5. Type in "regsvr32 WUAPI.DLL" (without double quotes) and click Ok.
    6. Type in "regsvr32 WUAUENG.DLL" (without double quotes) and click Ok.
    7. Type in "regsvr32 WUAUENG1.DLL" (without double quotes) and click
    Ok.
    8. Type in "regsvr32 WUCLTUI.DLL" (without double quotes) and
    click Ok.
    9. Type in "regsvr32 WUPS.DLL" (without double quotes) and click
    Ok.
    10. Type in "regsvr32 WUWEB.DLL" (without double quotes) and click
    Ok.

    Now please try accessing the Windows Update Site again.

    Suggestion 2:
    =========
    If you are still encountering the above error on Windows Update Site then, we
    need to rename the Softwaredistribution folder from your system. By renaming
    the folder we will be able to get the fresh copy of ActiveX controls needed
    to access the Windows Update Site. To do this, please try the step
    s provided below:

    We first need to close all the Open instances of Internet Explorer Window.

    Step 1: We need to Stop the Automatic Update and Background Intelligent Transfer Services on your system:

    1. Click Start > Run
    2. Type "Services.msc" (w/o quotes)
    3. Press OK
    4. Find "Automatic Updates"
    5. Right Click on the Automatic Updates Service and select Stop to stop the
    service.
    6. Now Find "Background Intelligent Transfer service"
    7. Right Click on the Background Intelligent Transfer service and select Stop
    to stop the service.

    Step 2: Now try the instructions provided below to rename the
    SoftwareDistribution from your system:

    1. Click on Start, Run and in the Open box write "%systemroot%" (Without
    Double Quotes) and press Enter.
    2. It will open the root folder ( i.e. C:Windows if you have installed fresh
    copy of the Windows XP OR if you have upgraded over Windows NT then it will
    open C:WINNT) from your system.
    3. Locate the SoftwareDistribution folder from the opened window Right Click
    on the on the SoftwareDistribution folder and select Rename. Type "OldSD",
    and press Enter.
    4. Once we have renamed the folder try the Step 3.

    Step 3: We need to Start the Automatic Update and Background Intelligent
    Transfer Services on your system:

    1. Click Start > Run
    2. Type "Services.msc" (w/o quotes)
    3. Press OK
    4. Find "Automatic Updates"a
    5. Right Click on the Automatic Updates Service and select Start to start the
    service.
    6. Now Find "Background Intelligent Transfer service"
    7. Right Click on the Background Intelligent Transfer service and select
    Start to start the service.

    Now try to access Winows Update again.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    The first thing I did was to shut down Zone Alarm Pro, clicked on Windows Update and it ran. I installed all 7 of them that it found for my machine. All that information and I didn't get to Suggestion 1.

    Thanks Bob, that's the first thing I should have thought of doing. No more problems with Windows Update, just turn off Zone Alarm and I'm good to go.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    I have been running ZA <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> for years and never had Windows or Microsoft updates blocked. All one needs to do is make sure that they are both listed in the programs area of ZA with a "Green" check mark in the columns.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    I was in there and didn't find Window or Microsoft Update. I will check again in case I missed it the first time. Thanks for the heads up.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    I don't think the intent of the suggestions were to disable ZA, to run Update.
    It was meant to just determine IF ZA was stopping the update service.

    Since it appears to be the one that IS stopping Update, then as Dave said, you have to have ZA allow the update.exe file to access the net.

    I believe in my ZA Program Control list, it shows "update run once" and if you click on it, it will show the details in the space below the list as: filename windowssystem32spupdsvc.exe

    BTW, print out that post and hang on to it. It's a handy reference item.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    I'm way ahead of you, it's already printed with This is a keeper written all over it. I will check ZA 's settings and see what I find in relation to the subject at hand.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    Dave: I saw neither Windows or Microsoft Update in ZA's Program.

    Bob: I did find the update run once service and added it the ZA's Program as trusted and allowed. I will run Win. Update without closing ZA and see if it stills loads.

    Thank you both for your valued help.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    Only remaining solution to this problem appears to be that I must remove Zone Alarm Pro. I have entered Windows Update into the Trusted Zone of IE7, added it to ZA programs and nothing works, The only way to use WU is to disable ZA and that's not a viable option.
    In ZA I entered update.exe and was informed that the file was not found. I know of nothing else to try.

    Thanks to all who tried to make this work. Good-bye Zone Alarm Pro.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    Gloria,
    You give up too easily.
    Try uninstalling, rebooting, then reinstalling ZA.
    Too many of us here use ZA and get WInUpdates without problems. <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    I'm so frustrated, I hate for this sort of thing to beat me. What is the update.exe someone mentioned that had to be added to ZA's programs. When I tried to add it today, I was advised that it could not be found. If it's a ZA update or Microsoft's, no wonder it couldn't be found. I searched for it and found 122 files, none of which pertained to the two programs mentioned above.
    I will try this one last thing and go the uninstall, reinstall route you mentioned, maybe I can find the update.exe file then. If not, ZA must go.

    Please tell me which .exe file should be there and for which program.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    What programs are list as "Blocked with Red X's", this may tell you what file is needed?
    It appears to me that you was asked by ZA to allow a program to use access to the internet and you said NO, and had added the check mark to remember this setting.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    Under Program Access there are no RedX's. I said No to none, I used Ask.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    Gloria,
    First: I don't, at the moment, use Windows Update or MS Update (or Automatic Update), since I download the patches et al via the bulletins (from MS Download) and install them "off line". Thus, there is some year since I last used MS/WU Update (though one time use of AU this autumn). However, I have before during some years used WU/MU successfully under XP, XPSP1 and XPSP2 together with ZoneAlarm which I have used since it came out, before WinXP.

    You have ZoneAlarm Pro, and you're not in a trial period? Then if you've paid for it, it's certainly worth a little work to find what's the problem.

    My experience with WU/MU/AU was that windows only needed the "Generic Host Process for Win32 Services", svchost.exe, to have Internet contact, beside Internet Explorer. This one should be allowed in a firewall, and I'm sure you have it allowed in your firewall, otherwise there will be no Internet contact at all.

    Over the years some things has changed, the WGA ActiveX component has been added and updated several times, and now WGA "sub-programs" may need Internet contact.

    With a "clean" (no updates) XP SP2 installation I think that the following is needed to get Windows Update working:
    -Windows Update ActiveX component
    -WGA ActiveX component
    -Windows Installer 3.1 (an update to Windows)
    -Package Installer (an update to Windows, KB898461, a permanent copy of the Package Installer so that following downloads from WU/MU/AU can be smaller in size.

    The last two are the first recommended updates when using Automatic Updates/WU Update. The ActiveX components are possible to download at first visit at Windows Update, then the two others should probably follow.

    Apparently you have the above components/updates since it's working with ZA client not running. Your WU ActiveX component can't be corrupted since it works with ZA shut down.

    As for "update.exe", it's the installer file inside a software update from MS, a file included in the package installer. We all will find a bunch of it in the Windows$hf_mig$ branch; i.e. the special HotFix Migration folders.

    The "update.exe" that is part of the package installer in the update, doesn't need Internet contact.

    I don't understand what Dave mean by:
    "All one needs to do is make sure that they are both listed in the programs area of ZA with a "Green" check mark in the columns."

    There is no such thing as WU or MU to list in ZoneAlarm, I think he's once more speaking before checking. (Like Aristotle would have found that it logically should be there in the firewall, but not bother to look after.) <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    The "spupdsvc.exe" is also part of the update mentioned above, the permanent copy of Package Installer installed with the KB898461 update. This update is one of the first to be available, since following updates can be smaller when not including a complete installer package.

    The KB898461 update is from 2005, my copy of "spupdsvc.exe" in System32 is of a later version than the one found in Windows$hf_mig$KB898461, it probably got updated at some first use of AU, from version 6.1.22.4 to 6.3.3.0.

    Now, to quote MS, the spupdsvc.exe file is a "Windows service that runs after a reboot if the installation requires processes to be executed after a reboot".

    As Bob mentioned it's called "Update RunOnce Service". It looks for certain sections in a file called update.inf, inside the MS software update that you are running or the WU/MU/AU started, and if needed it runs after reboot (we all know some updates need the PC to be rebooted).

    I can't see why spupdsvc.exe, i.e. Update RunOnce Service, needs Internet contact and thus has to be added to the Program list in ZA.

    Some sites even mention that malware can camouflage themselves as spupdsvc.exe; this is nothing new, no need to panic, they will camouflage as anything if they can (i.e. any OS file), and then of course it's not a good thing to give the file Internet access. Many times (but not always) these camouflaged files may be found, not in the original files place, but in another folder. For ex. in Windows instead of WindowsSystem32 etc. Probably due to WFP, Windows File Protection; a simple malware can't replace protected files.

    To not run a firewall isn't an option as you know, but you did a short test. There can be several reasons why WU isn't working; but is it correct that everything worked with your install of updates via Windows Update when ZA was closed? Do you see any Error number when you get the error message at WU? How did you install all the post SP2 updates after your upgrade (a clean SP2 install and then what WU recommended)?

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update Problem

    You have mentioned quite a few things that I will have to digest, others will have to be checked. At first reading, I don't understand some things you mentioned but I'm sure that once I have time to read it over again, some things may become clear. If not, I will contact you again and ask for an explaination.

    I don't use MS Download to install patches simply because I'm not sure which ones apply to my computer. When MU is run, it only presents the ones that apply.

    I thank you for your reply, I just need time to digest it. You will be hearing from me again.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •