Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    gjeff
    Guest

    Include Line Break to follow Heading Level (Style) (Word2000)

    I am formatting a document that includes a Heading 1 style "ARTICLE." I would like an automatic Line break to follow ARTICLE 1. How do I set this up?

    Thanks
    G. Jefferson

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Include Line Break to follow Heading Level (Style) (Word2000)

    Hi G,

    I don't think there is a way to do this in Native Word. I believe you would have to use a third party numbering solution or the line break would be have to be typed.

  3. #3
    BAM
    Guest

    Re: Include Line Break to follow Heading Level (Style) (Word2000)

    Hi G.,

    A style holds formats, not characters so this can not be done.

    Perhaps you can expand on why you need a manual line break and we might be able to help you come up with an alternative.

    For example if it is just space that you need, then add formatted space After the paragraph to the style definition. (Format/Paragraph Spacing section.)
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Cheers! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,048
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: Include Line Break to follow Heading Level (Style) (Word2000)

    Do you perhaps want to modify the "space after" paragraph formatting of the style?
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Include Line Break to follow Heading Level (Style) (Word2000)

    We haven't found a way to do this automatically at my firm. We use the Shift Enter to add a manual line break that doesn't make a new paragraph. This is for when you want:

    Article One.
    Declarations

    or some such. Just type shift, enter before you type the text of your headings (which you have to key in anyway).

    It would be nice if you could choose line break to follow your heading number (Word lets you choose only space, tab or nothing) so I don't think it is possible. If it is, I'd like to hear about it.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Include Line Break to follow Heading Level (Style) (Word2000)

    If you apply different paragraph styles to "Article One." and to "Declarations", you will automatically get what you want.

    Could you be wanting to include a paragraph break in a character style?

    If it is automatic numbering of the article styles, I suggest using
    {LISTNUM NumberDefault 1 7}
    after the word article. Please apply the curly braces by pressing Ctrl-F( rather than type out the braces.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Include Line Break to follow Heading Level (Style) (Word2000)

    Rajesh,

    This slightly misreads the original post, as well as vswearingen's comments, which were right on the mark.

    A very common outline number scheme seen in law firms is something along the lines of:

    Article I
    Section 1.1
    (a)
    (i) etc.

    where the Article I is often centered, and the heading text associated with Article I is laid out on the following line, after a manual line break aka 'soft return' aka Shift+Enter.

    The 'Article I' is produced via autonumbering which is attached to the style. The inconvenient aspect is that you need to manually type that Shift+Enter before typing the heading text on the next line.
    As Van observes, there is no practical way around that, because Word does not let you designate a manual line break as a character to automatically follow an autonumber.

    It could sort of be done, if you were to create a macro that both applied the style, and inserted a manual line break. But that might just confuse users, and wouldn't be desirable if you were applying this style over already-existing text.

    Hope that clarifies,
    Gary

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •