Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    I recently got brave enough to give SR2 another try. Since I upgraded to SR2, my DVD-R / CD-R is giving me trouble. The drive will see a blank DVD disk but will not see a blank CD disk. It will read a CD. It worked fine last week and no changes have been made except the update to SR2. Has anyone heard of something like this? I am using Roxio 6 and I uninstalled and reinstalled that program with no change. Are there any problems with un-installing SR2 and should I try that? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    When something like this happened to me, it turned out I had a bad DVD/CD drive. Have you done any diagnostics on the drive itself, rather than software?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    Other than what I mentioned about trying a blank dvd, many cd-r's, and reading a data cd, no. What diagnostics can I do? A bad drive did cross my mind, but that it recognizes a blank DVD puzzles me if the drive is bad. But I'll try any suggestions you have Al. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    The only other thing I'd suggest is checking the DVD drive's website to see if there are any patches or any firmware updates for your drive. I had a Sony that bit the dust and after several phone calls and hoops to jump through, they replaced it for me since it was under warranty. Works fine on my SP2 system now.


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    I gave the tech support a try first thing but the 1 year old drive is way obsolete and no support is available. NEC sold out to Sony on optical drives. And Sony only supports the new modern drives. Kind of funny.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    Gosh, I'm sorry they sold out! You haven't said what model of drive you have but have you checked this page for the possibility that your model may be listed. Not that I am slamming tech support because there are plenty that offer excellent help, but sometimes there is information on the website that can be of use as well. Just a thought........ <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    I don't have any suggestions to add to yours and Skitterbug's conversation - sorry. In my case, my Dell is still under warranty. I could read, burn and play CDs just fine but the drive would not recognize a DVD disk of any kind when inserted. A Dell tech walked me through the diagnostics that Dell "hides" on the machine's hard drive. The CD/DVD failed, so Dell sent me a replacement.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    I had gone to that page Skitterbug. Thanks for the link. Thanks Al. I am thinking that if it is hardware it could be a laser gone bad? I think a different laser is used for CD and DVD. Maybe the CD one went bad. Thanks again.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    Have you checked the physical connections inside the PC?

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    Yes I did Joe. I even changed cables. Thanks.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Joe

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    That is interesting. I wonder if it applies? I clicked around the microsoft site and could only find a place where they want around $60 for support. I will just uninstall SR2. That is much cheaper than paying for something that might not work. Thanks for your help though. I think the best option is an uninstall at this point. I don't know why in the world I keep doing silly things like upgrading anyway. This confirms my contention that if it isn't broken, don't fix it.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    If you can show Microsoft support that you have the problem they should not charge you to supply the fix. I'd try to get this fixed because soon SP-2 is the only XP version Microsoft will fix period.

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    I went through the support thing for email support and they asked for a credit card to charge me $59. I don't think it is worth $59.00. I have never needed Microsoft to fix things before so whether or not they only "fix" SR2 is kind of irrelevant as far as I can see. But I do appreciate your suggestions and help. I am going to take off SR2 and see if that fixes the problem. If it does, I will have a valid reason to try to get MS to fix it free. If not, I probably need a new drive. It won't cost me money to try that.

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP SR2 and CD-R (XP SR2)

    Well now here is an update. I decided to take off SR2 just to check things out. I figured I can always put it back on. But just as I was about to do that, I decided to give the burner one more try. And the drive saw the blank CD. I then closed the burning program, opened the drive and tried it again. This time the blank CD was not seen in the burning software. I tried it twice more. On the third try, it again saw the blank CD. So now I doubt SR2 is the culprit. I suspect either the drive or the burning software which I did remove and re-install.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •