Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    I recently had a computer problem that resulted in the loss of data from my main hard drive. I regularly back up to an external hard drive using the wizards in the Windows XP control panel, and it appeared to do the correct back up. After the loss of data, it went to the control panel to use the "Restore" wizard to retrieve my data from my external HD but the wizard does not seem to recognize that there is any back-up data there, although 95 Gb is being used by the back-up data on the external hard drive. Anyone know of a solution on how I can retrieve my data?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    Welcome to Woody's Lounge !! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    I'm assuming that you used the native XP backup utility to do the backup job. I have Acronis TrueImage installed on my system and when I go in through Control Panel, TrueImage opens when I click on the backup option. I seem to recall that there were some issues with restoring data when the XP backup utility is used.

    Can you see the data if you access the external drive via My Computer ?? If so, what format or file extensions is the data stored in ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    You might want to check out this MSKB article. HTH <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    Can you post what "Wizards" in 'Control Panel' you used to make these back up?

    And what "Wizard" you are trying to use 'Restore' them?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    It's the Backup & Restore Wizard that should come up when you click on the backup option in Control Panel's Performance and Maintenance section. If you have TrueImage installed, it will default to that.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    Good point. I forgot to mention that there is a difference in Home & Pro with this utility. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    I have the Home version and have never installed the "MS Backup" so I do NOT have "Backup" in the control panel.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    From the control panel in Windows XP, click on Performance and Maintenance, then on "Back Up your Data" and the wizard is the next step.

    PM

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    Like I said I am running Home version and MS backup is NOT installed by default. I have NOT installed it and will NOT as I will NOT use it.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    Here's the MSKB article on restoring data using the Backup and Restore Wizard. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    It's OK, Dave. We won't make you install it. Promise !!! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    The file is quite visible in My Computer - it's called "backup.bkf" and is supposed to open with "Windows Backup Utility"

    PM

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    Thank you, have persevered with it, and now have it sorted out and, importantly, restored.

    PM

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Back-Up (XP Pro SP2)

    <hr>I am running Home version and MS backup is NOT installed by default. I have NOT installed it and will NOT as I will NOT use it.<hr>
    Conversely I am entirely happy using NT Backup on my Windows 2003 server, front-ended by the very wonderful antipodean BackupAssist...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •