Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    In Services I changed the System Restore Service from Automatic start to Manual.
    Then I ran Change Analysis Diagnostic for Win XP (statechangediag.exe). Had it find changes from the last 7 days and an error appeared.

    The Error message was: The System Restore Helper returned a warning code hr=0x6.

    Does anyone know what the error means and if I should let System Restore Service be set on Automatic. I've searched Google but cannot find anything about the error.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    System restore is used by the Change Analysis Diagnostic to determine changes. If the service is not running there is no restore information.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    It noted the change you made in setting SR from automatic to manual.
    Did what is supposed to do.

    Why did you change from auto to manual?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    Gloria,
    I don't know why you would like the System Restore Service to be set to Manual. I think I've read that you, at least before, used to run SR manually every day. At that time the comment was that you did not need to do that since a properly working SR should set a restore point (RP) every 24 hour by default, and at a bunch of other occasions depending on the installer used.

    Then it is a completely different matter that one sometimes, if one care about SR, should create a RP before doing some changes, since not all actions result in the creation of a RP.

    Not everyone likes SR, and then it's no problem just turn it off in System in Control Panel, but for those who use or depends on SR working, they should try to solve any problems with SR instead of manually creating RP's.

    As Joe mentioned, to quote MS: "The Change Analysis Diagnostic tool queries the System Restore data for the number of days that the user selects."

    They also say:
    "The Change Analysis Diagnostic tool is especially helpful because of the following issues:
    - Users may not be aware of recent changes to their computers ...[]"

    In your case you know what you did prior to running the tool, not everyone is so lucky! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    The Elder: System Restore Service

    MS: Default settings for services

    The recommended setting for System Restore Service is Automatic, if one don't use SR, turn it off via CP as mentioned.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    I changed because I read an article on the web that said changing things not needed at start-up from automatic to manual would make your computer boot faster. System Restore only appears when you need it and I saw no reason for letting it start at boot.

    Did I make the wrong decision? I still don't know what the error message meant.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    I still run SR each and every day after start up. It's saved me too often not to. As I said to Bob, I thought that since it wasn't need at start up and only was in use if called up, that manual would not hurt. I see now that I have been to generous with Maual, it has been changed back to Automatic.

    Doing everything you read about on the web can be harmful, just like installing every new program that comes down the pike. I had also changed Print Spooler Sevices to maual, and when I tried to print I got a message that Ther operation could not be completed. The print Spooler Service is not running. Needless to say it's running now and started.

    One of these days I will learn to leave well enough alone. If the computer is working, don't make any changes, unless you're sure of the outcome. Lesson learned the hard way (that seems to be the way I learn best). The school of hard knocks has just issued my graduation papers.

    As for the two links, both are for XP Pro, I'm using Home.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    No one need worry about SR not running, it's the last thing I would shut down. It's saved me on numerous occassions, in fact, as recently as last week.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    >>I still don't know what the error message meant.

    See my <post#=646,805>post 646,805</post#>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    I'm sorry but I don't understand what this thread is all about! You shut down System Restore at startup to save time, BUT you use it every day... Somehow those seem like counterproductive actions, Ma'am. Huh?

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    Congratulations to your exam! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    The hardest part, I think, is when I forget what I once learned, then it hits twice as hard!

    Yep, sometimes things are easy to understand: printer <> Print Spooler Service; <!post=stop the service and XP can't see your printer,245884>stop the service and XP can't see your printer<!/post>.

    I think your correct in every aspect; and would like to add that one should not only know the outcome of a change (tweak), one should also know how to undo, revert, the change. As we all know, this is not necessarily done by doing the steps the opposite way. Maybe one has to undo it in a completely different manner. And one will never know if the change needs to be undone in the future.

    As to your test with "The Change Analysis Diagnostic tool" (what a mouthful); I guess you already have enabled, set, System Restore Service to Auto and tried the tool again. Should work.

    As to error message, again, as we (Joe first) mentioned, the service is needed for the tool to work. Not every error message is documented on the Internet, and especially not for smaller programs/tools, that are not in great use.

    I'm no computer engineer, programmer etc, but 0x6 seems to mean "handle is invalid". I.e. something tried to open a file and failed. Not like open a document, but like all the stuff that the PC does in the background. OK, as you probably know, an error message is related to context in which it appear. In your case the tool tried to read some information, but since the service wasn't running it couldn't.

    Yeah yeah, both are for Pro links, it isn't so easy to quickly through in some Home links. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15> Then you may say: how should I know if they're valid for Home. Well, what I did once years ago; I looked at the differences, what Pro has, and what both ver. has. Then "forgot about everything", now I just assume that this area, SR, isn't one that differ between the two versions. So, even if one doesn't have exact knowledge at every time, one can develop a feeling for how it works.

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    For your information, I found an article on Elder Geek that gives you the settings for Services for both the Home & Pro versions. He lists his suggestions for which ones to set to disable, manual or automatic.

    It can be found at: http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm (sorry, but I don't know how to make this a link).
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    Well!!! What do you know, it was there all the time. I must have overlooked it.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    Forgive me, but just where did I ever even suggest that I had shut down System Restore? I would never do that.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    Please review the thread starting at <post:=607,489>post 607,489</post:> where several Loungers explained how you can create a clickable link in a post. And also the thread starting at <post:=524,692>post 524,692</post:>.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore Error (XP Home SP2)

    Yes, I've seen it some years ago, thanks. It's out there together with http://www.blkviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm.

    Some may think that they gain performance/boot time/memory by tweaking the services. As I understand WinXP I think one has to take quite drastic steps to even perceive any change in performance etc.

    Another thing is that one needs a good memory if one starts changing the settings (for services). If someone starts to use a new program, device etc. months later it can be a hard time to understand why the new printer isn't working, why the wireless network isn't working etc. etc.

    And if one looks at different forums on the Net, questions about services isn't among the first when someone is trying to help, since it isn't the first that comes to mind when trying to troubleshoot. So a "service-tweaker" is in some respect on their own. They need to, as we said in previous posts, know the outcome of a change AND remember it. Otherwise troubleshooting can take forever.

    About the links: I answered your reply to quickly, I knew the Elder mention both Pro and Home default settings. But in general at MS, most of the documentation is for Pro since it includes everything in Home, one only needs to know about the differences.

    P.S. I have a Home system also.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •