Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fontana, California, USA
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Import Excel data (XP)

    I give up - I made sure there were no blank columns or rows - made sure each column was formatted uniformly and correctly - when I try to create a new Access database and choose Export and choose my Excel spreadsheet I get a message telling me my Excel file is not in the correct format for an Access database.

    Help - again!!!

    Aunt Linda
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Start from Access . . .

    If you start with Access and import the spreadsheet, it should work fine.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fontana, California, USA
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    I did!!!!! Opened Access, created a new database - choose File, Get External Data, Import - found the Excel file I want imported - that's when I get the message . . .

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    Hi Linda

    Strange, I have Access 2003 and the file you gave in the top part of the thread imported with no issue and opened. Is this the file you are attempting to import or just a cut down?
    Jerry

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    Check out this article in MSKB: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/109376/en-us

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fontana, California, USA
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    Just a cut-down version of the entire sheet but the whole sheet is just an extension of what you saw.

    Could you tell me the exact steps to take? Maybe when I open Access I'm in the wrong place - tables is selected - I can't imagine it matters whether or not I choose wizard, etc.????

    It's been that kind of a day - thanks for trying . . .

    Aunt Linda

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    Hi Linda

    1) Open Access <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    2) File | Get External Data | Import...
    3) Select File for import

    From your example on Import Spreadsheet

    4) Select Sheet1, press Next
    5) Select First Row Contains Column Headings [important]
    6) Press Next
    7) Select Ina new Table
    8) Press Next
    9) Ignore next step, press Next
    10) Select Let Access add Primary Key
    11) Press Next
    12) Type name of table
    13) Press Finish

    a)If this doesn't work is there a table called Errors or similar created after import?
    [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] The reason I asked about the data from the workbook is there maybe in exisiting variances or faults in the data and we can review this if a) above is true
    Jerry

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fontana, California, USA
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    I need to live in your deep, dark forest in England (I really, really do! It truly sucks here - Southern California, USA)

    This time it worked perfectly - can't explain it - magic, I guess. That's cool - I'll take magic!

    Thanks again - I'm going to try to import some other excel sheets as separate tables in the same database and I'm sure I'll need guidance in establishing correct relationships - that seems to be the most difficult thing for me in Access (so far - lol)

    Again - my sincere thanks

    Aunt Linda

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> but I could do with some of your sunshine once in a while....we await your next move <img src=/S/salute.gif border=0 alt=salute width=15 height=20>
    Jerry

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fontana, California, USA
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    Post deleted by AuntLinda1

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    If you are going to Append you have to ensure the fields are exactly the same and the number of fields is exactly the same, like for like.

    1) Open the table you wish to append to
    2) Open the Excel spreadsheet
    3) Highlight and Copy from A2:Xn (where X is the last column and n is the last row)
    4) Go back to Access
    5) Click into the very last field of SITE
    6) in the table view Edit | Paste Append
    7) Repeat 1-6 as necessary

    Labourious but worth it
    Jerry

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fontana, California, USA
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    Okey dokey - I'm leaving now - need my nap before I teach my Excel class tonight - but will try this tomorrow - you'll be the first to know . . .

    Ta


    Linda

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fontana, California, USA
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    I tried the Paste Append - worked perfectly EXCEPT IT WON'T APPEND THE FIRST COLUMN of the Excel worksheet data!!!!! What the heck am I doing wrong?

    Help again, please.

    Aunt Linda

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fontana, California, USA
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    I copied all the cells from my Excel spreadsheet that I want appended to my new Access database - did what you said - worked like a charm -

    BUT IT WON'T LET ME PASTE THE FIRST COLUMN OF MY EXCEL SELECTION! What am I doing stupidly this time???

    Thanks again - in advance

    Aunt Linda

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Start from Access . . .

    When I try it with the Excel worksheet from your first post, the first column is pasted along with the other seven. Are you sure the first column in your table has the correct format and size?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •