Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Acronis Phone Call

    I don't know if anyone else has experienced this, but I just had a telephone call from a fella at Acronis, whose first words were if he could call me "Al." He was wanting to tell me about a special promo email that he was gonna send me offering a special discount to "upgrade" my TrueImage to the Workstation product. In all the years that I've been a computer user, I could count on one hand the number of times I've been solicited by telephone. I have no intention of upgrading a working backup strategy to something possibly unnecessarily more expensive, but I must admit, I've never looked to compare what additional function the workstation product provides. Just a heads up....

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    Al,
    Sounds very strange to me. Suspicious too.
    How did he get your phone number?

    You know I have been a registered user of four or more Acronis products for many years and also a Beta tester for them for a long time. I have never received any solicitation by phone. I don't recall EVER giving them my phone number either.

    I think I would bounce this question off the people at Acronis to see what their response is. Send it to support@acronis.com. <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> <img src=/S/cop.gif border=0 alt=cop width=15 height=24>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    Al,

    Rest easy..... I too got one of those phone calls today along with the promo e-mail to upgrade to True Image Workstation 9.1 + Universal Restore at 35% off the regular price. I am considering making the upgrade since it does offer the ultimate security for restoration. The big advantage of using the Workstation version along with the Universal Restore addon is that you can restore an image to ANY PC. A practical example would be if your current machine needed a motherboard replacement, or even worse, the machine was destroyed in a fire or stolen. With True Image Home, the image would be virtually useless but with the above combination, you could replace the motherboard or even the entire machine and restore the backup image without issue.

    The cost for Workstation + Universal restore is about double of that of the Home version. So, the question is, how much is your data and time worth compared to the cost of the upgrade? From what I understand, the Workstation version works in a very similar, if not identical, manner as the Home version. Doubtless there is a learning curve involved in regard to the Universal Restore, but it surely isn't that difficult. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    Jeff

    So you are saying that with the standard Acronis TrueImage product which does image backups of hard disks it is necessary to have the same machine (or a clone) to restore the image back to the same or an identical disk?

    And there was me thinking that a disk image was a disk image, and had no dependency at all on the rest of the computer, bar the odd disk driver...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    John,

    If you have a different PC then I think you would be able to restore the disk image, but may not be able to boot from it.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    <hr>John asks:
    So you are saying that with the standard Acronis TrueImage product which does image backups of hard disks it is necessary to have the same machine (or a clone) to restore the image back to the same or an identical disk?<hr>
    Exactly!! Should you have to replace your motherboard, the backup image cannot be used to restore the image thereafter. Some, and they are few, claim to have been able to succeed in restoring an image to a machine with a different motherboard or even another machine with a long and convoluted process. But the overwhelming majority have failed. In fact, you can't even access any data located in "Cocuments and Settingsusername...." in an backup image file from another machine. The problem is at least partly due to the motherboard drivers, chipset, etc. This is one of the huge advantages of the True Image Workstation version with the Universal Restore addon. It circumvents that caveat and allows an image to be restored to ANY machine if need be. And just in case you are wondering.... the Universal Restore addon is compatible ONLY with the Workstation version of True Image; not the Home version.

    It does give one something to ponder, no? <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/scratchchin.gif>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    He started making the "cheese more binding" back here: <post:=607,984>post 607,984</post:>...

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    I went back to the site later and checked my profile. I do have my phone number in there and now that I think of it, I guess I do give my phone number to most trusted software companies I buy from. The call turns out to be a little humorous - the caller was a little klutzy. When I answered the phone, he wanted to know if this is Albert. When I said "speaking" (I try never to say "yes" on the phone, but that's another story!) his next question was "may I call you Al?" Now, the guy never has said who he is or from whence he's calling and he's wanting to chummy up with me. After I got him to tell me who he is and what he wants, I said I would check his email, thanked him for calling and goodbye.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    You could have said
    <hr>I can call you Betty
    And Betty when you call me
    You can call me Al<hr>
    (Paul Simon)

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    Al,
    I also got a telephone call. The fellow did not try and sell me anything, but asked if I was having any problems with my TI 10 (home). He said to give him a call If I did experience any problems, though the promised e-mailed contact info has not arrived. This was a first such call I ever got from a software vendor. A little unusual, but harmless. I attributed it to an energetic new hire trying to make a new job work out.

    Paul

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Lewiston, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    Hi Al,
    I, as well, have received a phone call from a 'Representative of Acronis' - almost a year ago. I was at work when the call came in and he left his message on my answering machine. Needless to say I never returned any call to him and thought 'that's odd' at the time. But no harm done and I haven't been bothered since.
    I guess not being retired (yet) has it's minor benefits.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    Al,
    I guess I'm on their "DO NOT call list"! <img src=/S/phonecall.gif border=0 alt=phonecall width=45 height=19> <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis Phone Call


  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    The question/issue has been asked several times on the Acronis True Image Forum and satisfactorily answered, which is what I posted here. You CANNOT restore a backup image to a machine where the motherboard has been replaced with a different brand/model nor on a different machine which has different hardware, particularly the motherboard. Again, some have tried it and very few have had any manner of success whatsoever, and that after implementing some unorthodox workarounds. To be able to restore an image in those types of situations you need True Image Workstation with the Universal Restore addon.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Acronis Phone Call

    Jeff,

    I think there is a very simple mis-understanding here.

    You can RESTORE the disk image, after changing your motherboard.
    If the image you have restored happens to be your boot disk then you probably won't be able to BOOT from the newly restored disk..
    If the disk you have restored is a data disk then this should work fine.

    StuartR

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •