Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Hi Chuck

    1) Are they the same language?

    2) Have you checked the Regional Settings in the Control Panel of your PC?
    Jerry

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Chuck,

    Turn the book over.
    Are these instructions in a printed manual?
    You must have noticed in many booklets, one side is in English and if you turn the booklet over, it's in some other language. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Jerry:

    I have not the foggiest if they are the same language; no, all I'm set up for is US English.

    Bob;

    OK, smart a--....


    Chuck.
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    I neglected to do my show and tell....

    The attached is what it looks like.

    CB
    *****************************

    I don't have the foggiest what's causing this, but:

    First, I use TextPad as an editor. They just issued v5.x; when I installed it, the font style box that's there when you select a font (bold, italics, etc.) was and is in some foreign language. I emailed them, but didn't think a lot about it at the time...

    A couple weeks ago I got a new video card, NVIDIA GeForce 5500, and the instructions for the install were again in a foreign language. I emailed them, thinking THAT to be a bit strange, since it was purchased from a US dealer.

    This moving, I'm installing Nero 6, and THOSE instructions are foreign (language) again.

    I'm not at all sure, but they all seem northern European in origin, but I think that that neither matters nor is the point; I'm beginning to think it's some setting of mine, but I haven't got the foggiest what or here.

    Any idea what in the heck is causing this?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    From that graphic you have now added, can you go to the Language node at the bottom of the "tree" and confirm if the Language is Finnish please?
    Jerry

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Jerry:

    If you're speaking of the "Language node" meaning the Languages tab on the Regional and Language settings of the Control panel, everything is grayed out.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Nope, of Textpad...like the image you show in <post:=647,565>post 647,565</post:>, I assume this is from your current PC?
    Jerry

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Jerry:

    Ah... no it's showing just English.

    Chuck
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Now I am confused... or maybe bewildered.

    I imaged my current install, with all it's problems, and restored one I had that is *just* an activated install of XP Pro SP-2.

    It had the Fiinnish language showing in the Control panel regional... applet.

    I'm not totally sure why it was/is there, or why/how I deleted it without memory, but there you go.

    Problem is, that I deleted it again from thsi bery basic install, re-booted and then ran the NVidia CD... the instructions were still in a foreign (Finnish?) language.

    Why didn't removing that from the CPanel solve it? Am I going to have to re-install Windows to correct this?

    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    I think you have just answered your own question. It appears your OS was set up with Finnish details, applications installed will "look" at the OS config and install the Finnish aspect of the application. Hence Textpads take.
    Jerry

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Jerry:

    I confirmed "Part A" myself -- I went back to my "just activated" image, found the Finnish language component, deleted it, then the installs worked... in English.

    Part B: I can't seem to do the same thing from a "full config" the same result from a full config. ??

    No way around just re-building? Seems strange in principle... but then stranger things have happened...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Well I'm now on try three.

    I found that sll the way back to my original activated install, I had font issues, carrying Finnish with me up three mirrors, then it went away (I guess I saw it and deleted it, but then it came back...

    ??

    Anywaay, I DID think that once you deleted a particulkar character set, it's influence went away, but evidently not, since even after going back to my initial activated install and deleting it, there are still remnants.

    In Textpad, most of the common fonts are squared away, but some, Verdana and Tahoma for instance, still are in Finninsh for the descriptions. So I guess that means that if (some) programs see a foreign font as present, they write something somewhere that is sort of untouchable. I saw something akin to that years back in DOS where everyone said it couldn't be so, but it turned out to be...

    ANYWAY, I'm going back to a cold, complete install, and start all over, seeing if I can baish the little poltergists.

    As they say... I'll be back.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Be careful and watch out for that tricky dialog near the end...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (5.0 KB, 0 views)

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Speaking English? (XP Pro Sp-2)

    Hans, you are COLD!

    CB
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •