Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Raid 5 in XP (SP2)

    Is there a means to create a software raid 5 in XP SP2?
    I understand that it is possible to modify XP code to do so.
    I don't intend it for a server purpose just to secure picture/film media

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Raid 5 in XP (SP2)

    XP software RAID 5 comes up with several likely hits. You do realise that to implement RAID 5 you need a minimum of three disks?

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Raid 5 in XP (SP2)

    Yes - I have several servers that are operating Server2003 and 2000
    All have 1 disc for the operating system and 3 for the raid. Early attempts at incorporating the OS on a split disc became fraught with access problems when things go wrong.
    This is a 'light' duty requirement that does not warrant the cost of Server 2003.
    The version of XP is SP2 and the 'hack' in 'Toms hardware' did not seem to work.

    I wondered if there were any other suggestions - or ideas why the 'hack' does not work. If its for SP1 only and not SP2 for example.

    Thnks for link - I'll also check for others

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Raid 5 in XP (SP2)

    Sorry, but I've never tried RAID-5 in software - we had about 30 disks on a two-shelf Compaq RAID-5 array, and the SCSI RAID-5 controller card cost a couple of thousand pounds!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Raid 5 in XP (SP2)

    Hi John
    To let you know that the download "SP2 Raid hacked files.rar" does seem to work
    The system is currently setting up the Raid 5 and will hopefully complete in around 12 hours!!
    Thanks and regards

    Duncan

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Raid 5 in XP (SP2)

    Good to hear this! Thanks for letting us know...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Raid 5 in XP (SP2)

    Please let us know how this turns out, I'm interested in the outcome. [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Raid 5 in XP (SP2)

    Hi

    The raid was created - it took 15 hrs (1Tb)
    The XP system and raid seems to run and the data stored. We are due to carry out further testing this weekend.
    I think it is important to say that this is not a critical application we have and that I would not recommend it to be simply adopted as a means to avoid the use of a proper server/raid set-up.
    We have several servers that are running on server 2k3r2 that are critical. Disk and controller failures are not unknown and to rely on what is potentially a 'hack' does not make sense.

    Caveat emptor

    Hope this helps

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •