3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Multiple selections (2003)

Hi.

I am a complete Access newbie, although I am very familiar with Excel which may be the root of my problem in that I want to just enter the data into the table without having to go to the trouble of designing a form just for me to use!

Here's the problem:

I have a school travel questionnaire which I need to transcribe from the paper returns into a database so that I can analyse the data. On this questionnaire I have several questions where the answer can be multiple options. For example, to take a simple case, "how do you get to school" - the tick boxes are Car, Bike, Walk, Bus, Taxi. Several people use a mix and tick e.g. both Car and Walk.

- Option 1 was to create a dead simple and entirely horrible flat table that included each option as a separate field with YES/NO check boxes. One questionnaire, one record. Horrible table, not what a database should be like, but it worked.

- Option 2 set up a table called "Mode" where the modes were fields. Each record was then a mix of different modes, so that I had all bases covered. This also worked, and I could run queries on it to see how many people walked (even if they also sometimes took the car). However, I needed to define a unique name for each set of options (albeit this could be an autonumber), and some of the questions had 8 entries which would have meant 256 entries to scroll through to cover each possible set of combinations.

- Option 3, which I have so far failed to achieve, ought to be much better than any of these, but I simply don't know where to start. I would like to be able to define a table called "Mode" and put the modes into it as individual records, and then pick them off a list in a "multiple selection list box" type of operation in the one "Answers" table where I enter the questionnaire responses.