Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Whittier, California, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    Hello All,

    I have numerous Access forms that linked to an Access DB on a network. These back-end tables were just converted to a SQL server. I am struggling to get my forms working again.

    One immediate problem is that the Yes/No Access fields were converted into bit fields, and they now show up on my forms as text fields with values of -1 or 0. I can deal with this fine, but many of the people using the forms are not very computer literate. How can I change these back to checkboxes?

    Thanks,

    Kevin

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    Are you talking about forms that already existed when the backend was still an Access database? Or are you creating new forms based on the linked SQL Server tables?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Whittier, California, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    These are forms that already existed.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Whittier, California, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    If it makes a difference, the ones I need to fix first are actually subforms that open in datasheet view.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    I guess the solution is to use continuous subforms instead of datasheet subforms.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Whittier, California, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    Somebody told me that it would be better to switch to using a program like WinForms for this. Do you happen to know anything about this program, or have another that you would recommend?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    Sorry, no idea. I hope someone else can help you wiith that.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    I'm confused? Before the conversion to SQL Server, how did these fields display on your subforms? I don't understand how they could have changed from checkboxes to textboxes.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Whittier, California, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    When I created the tables in Access I made Yes/No fields that displayed as checkboxes. When these were converted into SQL they became bit variable fields. I changed the links in my front-end Access DB from the Access tables to the SQL tables. When I open the tables in Access the checkboxes are gone. My forms have datasheet views of the tables, and they look the same (no checkboxes, just 0 & -1).

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Checkboxes using Access Forms with SQL Servers (XP)

    Ah. I never use datasheet view of tables. I'll create a form and use its datasheet view. This gives me alot more flexibility and control of data entry.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •