Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    Hello, about a month ago, I bought this new laptop with Vista installed and I have had a problem with the windows clock. It slowly, but surely becomes behind, and now it is running a full 15 mins behind normal time. I have even turned the auto-sync with website off. Can anyone provide a possible solution or advice?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    From what I understand, software such as anti-virus, power management, screen savers and others may cause time loss issues. You can expect to lose time if you do not synchronize with an internet clock. So the first thing to do is to make sure that the auto-sync is turned back ON.

    Then change the time between clock syncs manually. I believe the default setting is to check once a day.

    Start regedit as administrator .Click the Start pearl and type "regedit" (without the quotes) in the search box. Then when "regedit.exe" appears in the list of programs, right click and select Run as administrator.

    Go to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESYSTEMCurrentControlSetServicesW 32TimeTimeProvidersNtpClient
    There you'll find the key named: SpecialPollInterval
    Edit the value of this key to whatever interval you wish. The value is in seconds, so if you want the time to be synced every hour set SpecialPollInterval to 3600. The base is set to hex as default, so be sure you change the base to decimal before you enter the new value.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    Wow, thankyou, John

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    You're welcome. Now let's just hope that your clock starts keeping more accurate time <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> .
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    Hmmm..now I have a problem were it says this "An error occured while Windows was synchronizing with time.windows.com.". Any ideas?

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    Pick a different clock and try again.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    There is also the remote possibility that the battery on the motherboard is defective and needs replacing. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/Ponder.gif>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    OKay, how easy would it be to replace the battery, as I bought the laptop in England and I live in Norway (it was a wedding present from my mum and dad). Also, I tried to syncronize with all the different pages and it says that there was an error on every single one of them, could this be a firewall issue?

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    You might try D4, which is an entirely different free clock, and compare it for accuracy. My recollection is that it will provide you with a very long list of time servers.

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    Is it possible that Windows Time Service is not running on your machine? Start>Administrative Tools>Services and scroll down to Windows Time. Make sure that the Startup type is set to Automatic.

    Edited to add: This article MAY help. This thread also indicates that this may be a Vista problem.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    Thank you so much to all of you who posted on this thread! [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Vista Clock (Vista)

    Did you get the problem solved? If so, could you please post the solution. It might help someone else who is having the same problem. Thanks. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •