Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WebCams - not working with Vista (Vista Business)

    Can someone help please? I have just purchased a new PC with Windows Vista Business. I installed my existing webcam and it failed to recognise the device (no errors, nothing just failed to recognise it or should I say I was unable to find anything that indicated it was recognised and either way I could not get it to work!), I thought fair enough this is an older webcam they are not too expensive buy a new one. Yesterday I bought a new Creative webcam, installed the software, nothing! Went to the creative webcam site read the various support information downloaded the beta Vista driver, still nothing! Three questions, 1) How can I tell if the device is recognised by the OS 2) Is there a genreal issue with webcams and Vista? 3) Any ideas what I can do to get this device working, is there for exampe a series of logical events I need to follow to get the OS to recognise the webcam? Thanking you inadvance. Kind regards John

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: WebCams - not working with Vista (Vista Business)

    What model webcam? Someone here may have had some experience with it. Is it USB? Are you sure the USB port is functioning correctly? Usually for a USB device you need to install the software first then plug in the device unless the directions say differently. I'd uninstall all the webcam related software, unplug the device, re-boot, and start from scratch.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WebCams - not working with Vista (Vista Business)

    Hi Joe,

    first of all many thanks for your response. It is a Creative Live! Cam Video IM model. I will try disconnecting and uninstalling and see how that goes, I did check the sequence but there were no explicit instructions on the installation sequence so I connected the hw and then installed the sw. Any futher insights much appreciated. Cheers John

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WebCams - not working with Vista (Vista Busin

    Have you tried running software that depends on the webcam being recognised? In WinXP, I did find that the webcam would show up automatically in Windows Explorer. In Vista, however, it took actually opening up (in my case) the conferencing app - in which case, it was recognised without a hitch.

    HTH
    Gre

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WebCams - not working with Vista (Vista Busin

    Hi, many thanks for the suggestion, can you provide some more information about the conferencing app, what does this actually mean? What do I need to access to run this? Cheers John

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WebCams - not working with Vista (Vista Busin

    Sounds like I may have muddied the waters <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>.

    All I was trying to say is that you may simply just need to load whichever application that you intend to use to see the webcam output. From what you have been saying, you may have a specific application already in mind.

    The "conferencing app" I personally use is simply for 1 to 1 connections & is fairly basic. You may have completely different needs.
    Gre

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WebCams - not working with Vista (Vista Busin

    Argh I see what you mean now, I will go back to the drawing board and try again, cheers John

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •