Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Network Bridge?

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Network Bridge?

    Hi, I am getting myself a little confused...

    i have my main PC in the attic now (new house move) and it connects fine via the wireless card in the back to a wireless firewall router downstairs.

    I get a good connection and everything is OK with my main PC.

    I often repair PC's for friends, and in my old house I had a hardwired ethernet cable from the router to the room where I worked, but not really wanting to run one to the attic I thought I can use my LAN port on my main PC to connect in another PC and grab the net connection from there.

    Tried this briefly last night, but got confused. What SHOULD i be able to do and what CANT i do?

    I have a small switch, which I think I may need to connect both the Main PC via LAN port and the 'extra' PC via LAN port into. but then do I enable Internet sharing? Do I need to create a Network Bridge?

    I think I should just be able to use a switch (or crossover cable) but can't get my head around how to configure settings in my Main PC's network connections. Ideally i would like it to behave as a DHCP server (in which case would I need a switch or CO cable?) but as the net link comes IN via the wireless - not sure if I use Internet connection sharing.

    Im sure its simple. Feel rather a Klutz for not being able to sort this last night!
    Thanks,

    pmatz

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Network Bridge?

    Internet Connection Sharing is only designed to work with Dialup connections. You need to enable Routing to achieve what you have asked for.

    See <post:=646,363>post 646,363</post:>

    regards,

    StuartR

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Bridge?

    Thanks, just reading through this now.

    What about the network bridge? Any thoughts?

    i will try the enable routing when i get home, I wonder whether this will allow the extra machine to obtain a DHCP address or if i will have to assign manually. I wonder whether a normal ethernet cable or a crossover is necessary

    interesting stuff. Thanks again

    Cheers
    Thanks,

    pmatz

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Network Bridge?

    Almost all routers are can be (and are) DHCP servers. You may need to get into the router configuration which is usually browser based to check on the DHCP settings. You should not have to enble routing if you already have a router installed. Just connecting the 'new' PC to the router either via a cable or wirelessly should get it on your network.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Network Bridge?

    If you connect the PCs together with a cross-over Ethernet cable then you won't need a DHCP server. Windows will assign addresses from its automatic IP Address range (169.something or other) and everything will just work!

    As for Network Bridges, I've only ever used hardware ones, and I have no idea if the Windows implementation can bridge between wired and wireless networks, if you get it working then please let us know what you had to do and how well it worked.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Bridge?

    Great - looking forward to getting home and trying to sort this out - will report back on best solution.

    Joe - The actual Router is downstairs and I amworking in the attic - the link via my desktop PC is wireless, so I can't plug in the extra PC to the router downstairs - but am trying to plug it into the LAN port of my main PC and configure the main PC to route network traffic through the LAN down the Wireless to the router downstairs!
    Thanks,

    pmatz

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Bridge?

    Hi,

    I have tried (and tried and tried!) to get thiings working the way I want but still unfortunately to no avail!

    I have got the 2 PC's connected via a switch and got them able to 'see' each other. I have sucessfully PINGed each of them from each other - and also carried out file copy operations from the extra PC (copying off a shared drive on my Main PC).

    I still CANT get this extra PC [169.254.1.2] to pick up the net connection - I can PING the LAN port its connected to [169.254.1.1] , and I can PING the Wireless Port that is on my main PC [192.168.1.100], but cannot PING the router. [192.168.1.1]

    Here is the IPCONFIG/all from my Main PC, and the ROUTE PRINT statement.

    I am sure this should be possible - just need to somehow configure the defualt gateway's correctly I think - but can't seem to sort it out. I have checked that the firewalls arent geting in the way - turning them off doesnt make a difference - and they can 'see' each other anyway - so it must be something I can do in the ROUTE ADD area.

    <pre>Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    Cocuments and SettingsMatz>route print
    ================================================== =========================
    Interface List
    0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
    0x2 ...00 11 50 1c 0b ff ...... Belkin Wireless 54Mbps Desktop Adapter - Packet
    Scheduler Miniport
    0x3 ...00 11 09 28 80 d7 ...... NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller - Packet Sch
    eduler Miniport
    ================================================== =========================
    ================================================== =========================
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
    0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.100 25
    0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.100 169.254.1.1 20
    127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 1
    169.254.0.0 255.255.0.0 169.254.1.1 169.254.1.1 20
    169.254.1.1 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 20
    169.254.255.255 255.255.255.255 169.254.1.1 169.254.1.1 20
    192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.100 192.168.1.100 25
    192.168.1.100 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 25
    192.168.1.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.1.100 192.168.1.100 25
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 169.254.1.1 169.254.1.1 20
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 192.168.1.100 192.168.1.100 25
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 169.254.1.1 169.254.1.1 1
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.1.100 192.168.1.100 1
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.100
    ================================================== =========================
    Persistent Routes:
    None




    Cocuments and SettingsMatz>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : p808
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Wifi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin Wireless 54Mbps Desktop Adapt
    er
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-1C-0B-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.31.176.39
    194.117.134.19
    195.188.53.175
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 20 May 2007 15:57:38
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 21 May 2007 15:57:38

    Ethernet adapter LAN:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-28-80-D7
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.1.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    </pre>



    Any thoughts?
    Thanks,

    pmatz

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Network Bridge?

    Have you enabled Routing on the PC that has two network connections? The behaviour sounds as though this PC is accepting incoming packets, but not routing them. To enable Routing will involve using a Server version of windows, or making the registry edits I suggested in an earlier post.

    StuartR

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Bridge?

    Hi,

    yes - i did make the registry edits - and the ipconfig shows you the routing is enabled. perhaps the machine is just not playing ball. - When i disable the Lan connection it shuts down the PC - so Im thinking something somewhere is awry.... perhaps its time for a overhaul re-image [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    I have done the same thing with MS Virtual machine - a virtual set up of what i have in my attic - and the routing works perfectly - this is with XP Pro too - so Im thinking its my real machine with issues.

    Anyway - thanks for your help. Nothing like a bit of routing [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]
    Thanks,

    pmatz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •