Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Mackay, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    I have created a template with a huge amount of AutoText entries that I want to be available to users without messing around with their normal.dot template. I have added the template to the Startup folder and identified the startup folder location under Tools, Options, File Locations. I have also added it to the global templates and add-ins in Word and it is appearing just as it should be. However, none of the Autotext is available at all when I am in an ordinary blank document. If I open the template, then there they are. I have used styles so the AutoText appears under heading categories ... ie Plumbing Conditions, Building Conditions etc.. The styles aren't available either. In case Word was confused I copied the styles into normal.dot but this didn't solve the problem. And anyway I don't want to have to be copying styles to every user. What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance.
    Suzanna

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    AutoText entries should be available. Select Insert | AutoText | AutoText... and make sure that the 'Look in' box says 'All active templates'. AutoText entries from the add-in (global template) should be listed then, and work just like other AutoText entries.

    You only see the styles stored in the document itself, and those are copied from the template the document is based on. So you won't see styles stored in an add-in (global template) in other documents.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (16.3 KB, 0 views)

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Mackay, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    Hi Hans
    This is why I'm confused. I checked that out. My dialog box looks like this:
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Mackay, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    This is how the dialog box looks when I'm actually in the template that I'm using as an add-in>
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    Does this mean that you don't have the default AutoText entries that come with Word?

    Are you absolutely sure that your add-in is listed in Tools | Templates and Add-Ins and that its check box is ticked?

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Mackay, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    I cleaned them out for the job that I'm doing as the client doesn't need them. For the purpose of the exercise I renamed my own Normal.dot and let Word create a clean one and started work from there. Here is a pic of my Tools|Templates and Add-ins dialog box with the add-in template which contains the AutoText outlined in red.
    Cheers . . . Suzanna
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    Strange, I cannot explain this. Take a look at Phil Rabichow's <!post=Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word,197827>Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word<!/post> to see if you can find the culprit.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Mackay, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    Thanks very much Hans. I'll check it out. I have done a detect and repair and now am downloading updates/patches etc. so let's see if that does any good. I also deleted the Normal.dot and got it to make a fresh one and left the default AutoText in. Anything to trick it into behaving properly! :-) I will repost if I succeed with this in case anyone else has a similar problem sometime. Meanwhile ... have a thrilling evening/morning depending on where you are and thanks again.

    Cheers . . . Suzanna

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Mackay, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    I think I've solved it! Yet again it's Adobe Acrobat Professional. I knew it interfered with changes to Normal.dot and have been working around that, but I experimented on my partner's computer (who doesn't have Adobe installed) and the AutoText entries are all there and working perfectly after I put the template into his Startup folder. There's information on their site re methods of solving the Normal.dot problem but certainly nothing at this stage about what it does to add-in temlates. I think my only choice is to uninstall it, which is a real pain since it cost me $$$. Their site says the update to version 7.09 fixes the Normal.dot issues and maybe it does, but I've just done the update and it hasn't fixed my add-in problem. Oh well ... at least I know what the cause is now.

    Cheers . . .
    Suzanna

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Word - AutoText from Add-in Template (2003)

    Ah yes - Acrobat... <img src=/S/burnup.gif border=0 alt=burnup width=31 height=31>

    It's a pity that recent versions of the Acrobat addon are COM add-ins instead of standard add-ins (templates), this makes it harder to turn it off temporarily.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •