Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Template Toolbars (2003)

    Our office uses a global pleading template. This template has a special toolbar. When one particular workstation in our office creates a new pleading from this pleading toolbar. When the document based on this template is opened by another workstation, the toolbar is not available. It is not in the list of toolbars or visible in any way. We've narrowed it down to the "generating" workstation. Something about her workstation makes this toolbar disappear. <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>
    Any ideas?
    Charlotte
    Charlotte Quiroz

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    The toolbar is stored in the template, not in the document. So if the toolbar is not available, it would seem that the template is not available.

    1) Is a document created on the problem workstation still attached to the correct template?
    2) Has the template been installed in a different path on the problem workstation than on the other ones?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    If I open the same document on the computer that created it, the toolbar IS there, so I'm assuming the document is still attached to the template. How can I tell?
    The install path is the same for all workstations. I know this because there is a line of code in the template that references an exact path.
    One thing I have not tested is if ANY workstations can see the toolbar for documents created on the "problem" workstation.
    Charlotte Quiroz

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    I'd test a document created on the "problem" workstation on a few other workstations,
    Check the exact name and path of the attached template in the Tools | Templates and Add-Ins dialog, then make sure that the template can be found.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    <hr>Our office uses a global pleading template.<hr>
    Is this template stored on a server? Does the offending machine have the server mapped to the same drive as other users?
    Regards
    Don

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    Are you certain that the custom template was stored in the pleading.dot template and NOT in the local normal.dot?

    By default (for reasons only the programmers know or agree with) Word defaults to saving customizations in Normal.

    So my first recommendation is making sure the document is attached to the expected template (Tools Templates and Addins) and that the toolbar is not in the generating computer's normal.dot

    If it is in pleading.dot -- and all of the workstations that might modify this document also have pleading.dot in their template folders, the answer may be that the individual workstation template paths have a slight variation from one station to another -- and so the template is found on one and not found on another.

    A free solution for this problem -- if that is the problem -- is to download a free utility called CheckTemplate (of my creation) at Indelible Ink . It should be installed on all stations.

    This utility is a startup add-in that will look at the document when it is loaded to see that the expected template is available. If it isn't, it will prompt the user to find it. It takes into consideration any differences in the template path from one machine to another.

    It also works cross platform between Mac and PC.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    I'm seeing a pattern here...the path. I am about 99% certain the path is exactly the same on all computers, but I will check next week.
    As for where the toolbar is stored, Pleading.dot or Normal.dot. I know for certain it is Pleading.dot because I created this template. I'll check to see if the document is attached to the template. We will be moving to Worldox in the near future and Tool|Templates and Addins will no longer be available to us (Worldox locks this feature). Is there another way to check. I will download your addin and give it a try.
    Thanks. I'll let you know the results.
    Charlotte
    Charlotte Quiroz

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    > We will be moving to Worldox in the near future and Tool|Templates and Addins will no longer
    > be available to us (Worldox locks this feature).

    I believe they hide the dialog to prevent users from disabling the WORLDOX global template; blocking access to the attached template is an unfortunate side effect. You can customize the @WDWORDx.DOT templates to behave differently if you like (this can be a bit tricky to support during upgrades if the changes are extensive).

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    Guy: I downloaded your untility. Nice. But, the path is not the problem. I created a new pleading document from my Pleading.dot., Saved the new document. Closed Word. THEN, changed the name of the template folder. When I reopened Word and opened my test document I was prompted that the template could not be located (from your utility) and did I want to search and attach. I said "No". My toolbar was still available. So, while your utility is a nice addition, that does not seem to be my problem.
    Charlotte
    Charlotte Quiroz

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    If the toolbar is available while the document is no longer based on the template, there are two possibilities:
    1) The toolbar is not stored in the original template, but in your Normal.dot or one of your global templates (add-ins). This is the most probable situation, since it explains why the toolbar is not available on all PCs.
    - or -
    2) The template is not a real template, but a document whose extension has been changed from .doc to .dot. In that case, the toolbar would be copied into the new document.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    If you changed the User Template location using the Tools File Locations, then you shouldn't have gotten prompted at all, because my utility takes the template sub folder and name and looks for the template in the "parallel" tree structure on the current machine. That is, if machine 1 (or template location 1) is

    c:msofficemytemplatespleading.dot

    and the user template on machine 2 (or template location 2) is Crogram fileswordtemplates, my utility will first look for

    Crogram fileswordtemplatesmytemplatespleading.dot

    before it tells you it can't find it.

    If you manually changed the folder name of your template folder outside of word (in explorer), then, yes, you should get prompted because the user template location and the actual location of the template are different.

    But when you say NO to my utility there should now be an incorrect template. And it wouldn't have any toolbar.

    In this second case, the only possible explanations are the ones Hans proposes: 1) the toolbar is in normal 2) the toolbar is in a global add-in stored in the startup folder, or 3) the toolbar is in the document.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Template Toolbars (2003)

    Can you check the toolbar's "context" property to determine its source? This should dump that information to the VBE's Immediate window:

    <code>Sub CBarContext()
    Dim cb As Office.CommandBar
    For Each cb In Application.CommandBars
    If cb.Visible = True Then
    Debug.Print cb.Name & IIf(cb.BuiltIn, " {BuiltIn}", " {Custom}") & _
    vbCrLf & " Context=" & cb.Context
    End If
    Next
    End Sub</code>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •