Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Print to graphic

    Reated to my question in <post#=647,434>post 647,434</post#>, I have been looking for something like this:

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/imageprinter/

    However I need a high level of graphic precison to desktop e-fax a barcoded document, and the graphics produced by this application are not accurate enough to be adequate - I'm just posting this for posterity.

    I'll continue to use a print-to-PDF driver until I find something accurate. Has anyone found a <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> print-to-graphic app that is very precise? (Please don't ask me about saving to HTM or screen shots - the HTM page of the barcoded document has no Menu, so I can't save to file, and the latter requires too much editing to be practical. My accounts payable and IS folks have no solution, except to have a fit about me installing CutePDF Writer without preapproval.)
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Print to graphic

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 25-May-07 14:09. )</P>It seems that the intermediate output on the way to PDF -- PostScript -- would be easy to rasterize to an image but I don't know if anyone has created a driver for it. If not, you might use a two step process of printing to a PS or EPS file and then running that through a rasterizer. Photoshop Elements seems to do a reasonable job, but I don't think it can be automated (no command-line interface, as far as I can tell).

    (Note to self: $50 Zan Image Printer sounds interesting.)

    Added: If you are permitted to install programs of unknown provenance, this, from a usenet news post, might be worth exploring:
    <hr>1) Download and install Ghostscript and FreePDF from
    <http://freepdfxp.de/fpx732.htm>

    2) Go to the Start menu and launch FreePDF (not Assistant or Join)

    3) Go to Edit->Options

    4) Click on Profiles and then New

    5) Give it a name like "JPG at 300DPI"

    6) Select "jpeg" under "Output Format" and change the DPI to 300 (t may
    already say that)

    7) Click on SAVE and repeat steps 4-6 creating a profile called "JPG at
    600DPI" (or whatever other resolution you'd like) if you want.

    8) Click on the "X" to close the window and then close FreePDF <hr>

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Print to graphic

    For my CRM system we use an Electronic Document Management System (EDMS) which converts the scanned documents to TIFF files. The system is very effective in creating images and barcodes come out brilliantly.

    I have another system that stores correspondance for complaints handling and uses its own "built-in" scanning conversion and connects via the scanner twain, I have found that some newer HP scanners use Adobe PDF conversion and although they do not connect to the application create some fantastic copies.

    So in short if I had the choice I would go for a doc to TIFF and if I had the budget the Adobe PDF scanner...of course not free <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Print to graphic

    I'm looking for a low cost (free is good) solution, and the original advice from inside I rec'd my company was to print to the MS Document Imaging System Driver then save the file as a TIF. But the TIF barcodes come out much fuzzier than PDF, and the fax system which processes them acknowedges receipt, but the expense system which recieves then takes them and processes the bar code will not recognize them The TIF settings I'm using in the MS Doc Imaging System are highest Resolution, but still no dice. So that I don't frustrate people who are trying to help me, I'll Post back a more detailed explanantion to my original Post.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Print to graphic

    Thanks, I may look at this, but the number of steps seems excessive. In order not frustrate people who are trying to help, I'll Post back to my OP with more detail.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Print to graphic

    It seems that it might help to explain in more detail. I'm an employee working on a remote work-from-home user basis via VPN .

    My company uses Net SatisFaxion Enterprise desktop e-faxing, which is a bit of a pain to set up at the user end, but otherwise works well. I only use it for one routine purpose ...

    My company also uses the Concur online submission Travel and Expense Management System, which I find to be a hideously designed interface, but aren't all online expense systems? Problem is, users with expenses not already matched to their corporate expense card are expected to submit a bar-coded cover page and graphic image of all expenses, using Concur's fax imaging system. The barcoded cover page is available as a menuless HTML page produced after the expenses are submitted online, intended to be printed and then faxed in with receipt images; the Concur imaging system reads the barcodes and accepts the receipts.

    It seemed logical that I could produce an image of the barcoded cover page, e-fax it and my receipts, and we'd all live in a happy paperless office world, while the mighty redwoods continued to grow. The company advice was to save the Cover page to the MS Document Imaging System, convert it to TIF and send it. <img src=/S/razz.gif border=0 alt=razz width=25 height=17> Didn
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Print to graphic

    >> ...is available as a menuless HTML page...

    Is this being viewed in a browser? When I get menuless pop-ups in FireFox, for example, I right-click and invoke the 'View this page in IE' add-in which gives me an instant and full

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Print to graphic

    John

    I can only suggest this one on a "try it and see" basis: Paperless Printer.

    I'm also wondering if an app with some graphics manipulation capabilities - brightness, contrast and especially "sharpen" - might be more efficaceous than an increased resolution ???

    Alan

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Print to graphic

    This is in a secure encrypted IE Window, and a number of the right-click options are grayed out. I can view the source, but if I save the source to text and rename it to HTM I lose the barcodes, which are embedded JPEGs located on the vendor site ... hmm how can I get to them? There are three, the properties of the first show as:

    <pre>file:///C:/ces00253pcpz/media/gen/barcode/RptId_<blah, blah>.JPEG</pre>

    but that's not a location on my computer; the source reads:

    <pre><td align="center" valign="top"><span title="barcode">[img]/ces00253pcpz/media/gen/barcode/ComId_<blah, blah>.JPEG[/img]</span></td></pre>

    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Print to graphic [big image!!]

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 26-May-07 11:43. )</P>> the number of steps seems excessive.

    Sorry, I didn't tell the whole story. Those are the installation steps. To use the driver, you choose the printer and when you get the save dialog, you choose your output format there before specifying the file name. Shouldn't be much worse than CutePDF Writer. But I haven't tried it myself. I guess I should. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Update: After two hours of testing, yes, this is a very powerful solution. You have to install GhostScript (author recommends AFPL GhostScript 8.54 (12.7MB), not the latest release, but he hasn't yet tested more recent releases) first, and then the FreePDF executable (download page). I had to restart my computer, as I got ZoneAlarm and the installer cross-ways at one point.

    Print speed is close to CutePDF Writer (PrimoPDF seem much slower). File sizes are approximately the same as CutePDF Writer (PrimoPDF's files are routinely 20K larger, perhaps due to different font embedding). By default, FreePDF generates Acrobat 4.x compatible files (PDF version 1.3) while the others generate Acrobat 5.x compatible files (PDF version 1.4). This is configurable, and I have no idea what features are gained or lost between then. Like PrimoPDF, FreePDF lets you secure your PDF (e.g., print or not, copy or not, etc.) with 128-bit encryption. FreePDF's security options are more granular, but PrimoPDF's are a bit easier to understand. In this case, both drivers generate Acrobat 5.x compatible files (PDF version 1.4) files.

    After printing, you get a dialog which allows you to choose an output profile. High Quality and Medium Quality both render text at 600dpi; they differ in how much they down-res images (for color, reduced to 150dpi and 75dpi, respectively). These can be modified, or you can create your own output profiles. And that is how to create profiles to output the print job as one or more images (for JPEG, each page is saved as a separate image; I didn't try TIFF). After you define a profile, you can create a new Windows printer for it. This works the same as the FreePDF XP printer, but defaults to the selected profile, saving one step in the dialog.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Screen grab?

    I curious why you wouldn't grab the screen (alt + Print Scrn), paste into Paint and save as a GIF.

    Speaking of GIF files, did you try saving as a GIF instead of a TIFF? (I can't understand why your TIF would be fussy)

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Too much editing?

    Resize browser window to fit bar code graphic
    Alt + Print Scrn to grab the image
    Open Paint
    Paste image
    Crop image as required
    Save As GIF graphic

    Why would you need to edit at all?

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Screen grab?

    See the last parenthetical sentence in my post.

    TIF is the only graphic file save format available in the MS Document Imaging service.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Too much editing?

    1. The HTM page is not US letter sized, which is required for the receiving fax system; I have to size the HTM window to letter first
    2. If I edit the image in Paint and distort it all, the barcodes will not read
    3. I'm not certain, but if I leave the IE borders of the HTM image, I expect the barcodes will not read
    I have done it this way, and the process from start to finish takes 15 or so minutes, I have to do it for every expense report, the company doesn't pay me for <img src=/S/artist.gif border=0 alt=artist width=34 height=29> work, and it's waste of my time considering that my company should be providing a solution which should take two seconds. Cropping IS editing AFAIC. Sorry about the attittude - unless you are in my A/P department. <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19>
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Too much editing?

    John,

    If you have IE7 installed take a look at IE7Pro - The Ultimate Add-On for Internet Explorer 7. Claims to have a "Flexible and easy-to-use tool that converts html page from any URL to image. It captures the whole web page's content into JPG, BMP , GIF , PNG or TIFF on the fly."

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •