Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Getting Network Info

    WinXP Pro... I believe there is a command I can type into a "DOS" window, or some place like that, that will display the IP addresses of all the computers on my home network. If I am correct, please tell me what the command is.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Getting Network Info

    Hi Bill,

    On each PC, if you get to a command prompt, you can issue a <pre>ipconfig /all</pre>

    to see all sorts of network related information for THAT PC.
    Christopher Baldrey

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Getting Network Info

    You may be able to see the names of computers on which you have accessed shares by typing
    <code>nbtstat -c</code>
    this shows all entries that are in your local name translation cache.

    StuartR

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Getting Network Info

    Yes, Chris, I've used that command but I can't use it on the ReplayTV and I thought I had used, a long time ago, a command that listed all the computers on the network. Maybe a command that begins with "net"? Maybe my mind is just getting too old! <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>

    Thanks,
    Bill

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Getting Network Info

    Stuart, that does show me the desktop from the laptop after I have accessed a shared folder. That's a new one I'll have to try to remember.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Getting Network Info

    <code>NET VIEW</code>
    will list all the computers in your workgroup. Is that what you are thinking of?

    StuartR

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Getting Network Info

    Yes, that is probably what I am remembering. It didn't help me in this case because what I wanted to be able to see from my PC is the IP address being used by my the ReplayTV. The ReplayTV is not identified as part of my workgroup and that command does not show the IP address anyway. So much for that idea. <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>

    Thanks,
    Bill

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Getting Network Info

    You should be able to get this information from your DHCP server.

    StuartR

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Getting Network Info

    Yes, I can see which IP addresses are assigned to each computer by looking in the DHCP server. The inconvenience is that the server is upstairs on my wife's computer which she has been using a lot lately. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Thanks,
    Bill

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Getting Network Info

    Do you mean that your wife's PC is functioning as the DHCP server? Or do you have a router that is the DHCP server?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Getting Network Info

    The answer's in his other thread: <post:=652,385>post 652,385</post:>

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Getting Network Info

    Thanks Al.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Getting Network Info

    Yes, my wife's desktop PC is running a DHCP Server (DHCP Turbo for Windows 3.0) program to provide that service for my home network. I have a ReplayTV on the network that has a bug in its program that causes it to request an IP address even when it has a manually assigned address, so I need to use a DHCP server that will either assign a particular IP to a particular device when a request is received or assign a lease time of more than 14 days. My router's DHCP function will not do either of those. I want the ReplayTV to use a fixed address so I will be able to share saved programs with other ReplayTVs.

    Someone suggested yesterday in the PlanetReplay forum that I could use Look@LAN for the purpose of checking the Replay's IP from my laptop and that works fine. It is free too.

    Bill

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Getting Network Info

    Look@Lan - Network Monitor appears to be a very useful <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> product.

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Getting Network Info

    <hr>...suggested yesterday in the PlanetReplay forum that I could use Look@LAN... <hr>
    A link might help another Lounger. Is this it: Network Monitoring and Management Solutions

    Edited to add: Sorry Joe, I'll take your word for it!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •