Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, USA
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Import video (Vista Home Premium)

    When I make a DVD from my camcorder's tape using Import Video, the DVD is made, but is only playable on the PC. It's not playable on a normal DVD player. How to I transfer the camcorder tape to a DVD so it is playable in a regular DVD player?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Import video (Vista Home Premium)

    You need to save the video with the program you are using to import the video. Then use Windows DVD maker to create the DVD.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Import video (Vista Home Premium)

    You need to use the "Mastered" or "ISO" format to make it play on some older DVD systems.
    Even my new-ish DVD player won't play the UDF formated disks.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, USA
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Import video (Vista Home Premium)

    I took the .avi file that I made when I copied the videotape to the PC, and added it into DVD Maker, then made the DVD. Same problem; it's fine on a PC but won't play on a normal DVD player. I tried it on two different units and it won't play on either one. What am I doing wrong?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Import video (Vista Home Premium)

    Are you sure you are using the correct DVD media for your DVD player? Check either your owners manual or the vendor site.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, USA
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Import video (Vista Home Premium)

    Actually, I just tried it again and this time it worked. It hangs a little bit when I press PLAY but it does play...at least on one of my DVD players. Thanks for the info.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •