Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,029
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SHAPE language in Access (Acc2K, Win2K Pro)

    hello again... another question: is it possible to use SHAPE in Access VBA? My VBA code appears to output a properly formatted SHAPE style SQL command but Access won't process it.. using ADO, btw.

    What i'm trying to do is implement access-style report grouping from a query: for each single value is column A, list all values in Col B; for each single value in Col B, list all in Col C; for each single val in Col C, list all vals in Col D. Don't need to use SHAPE but I recall having to do this sort of thing years ago and SHAPE worked like a charm (in ASP/ADO).

    TIA

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SHAPE language in Access (Acc2K, Win2K Pro)

    You can use SHAPE to populate a datagrid, etc. in Access. I'm not clear on how you're trying to use it, though.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,029
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SHAPE language in Access (Acc2K, Win2K Pro)

    basically what I'm trying to do is build nested XML markup from a query. The query has SurveyID, PageID, QuestionID and ResponseID gathered from different forms and re-displayed in a singe query. I want to output the SurveyID + PageID + QuestionID + ResponseID data with 'details' going from ResponseID up thru QuestionID and PageID to the next row in Survey ID. So:
    <SurveyID 1>
    <PageID 1>
    <QuestionID 1>
    <ResponseID 1>
    <ResponseID 2>
    <ResponseID 3>
    </QuestionID 1>
    <QuestionID 2>
    <ResponseID 1>
    <ResponseID 2>
    <ResponseID 3>
    </QuestionID 2>
    </PageID 1>
    <PageID 2>
    blah...other questions/responses
    </PageID 2>
    </SurveyID 1>
    <SurveyID 2>
    blah blah new grouping on SurveyID
    </SurveyID 2>

    Easy to do in a report but doing it in VBA is giving me problems. BTW, I know now that Access supports SHAPE but you have to specify a MSDataShape provider in the connect string, so I am concentrating on how to put together the connect string in ADO. I guess Set cnn = CurrentProject.Connection won't work...

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SHAPE language in Access (Acc2K, Win2K Pro)

    Shaping ADO Queries with Access Subdatasheets
    I also have the file Shapes.mdb associated with the page above but it's too large to be posted here even when zipped.
    You can mail me and I can send it to you.
    Hope this helps

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,029
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SHAPE language in Access (Acc2K, Win2K Pro)

    thanks - I sent you an e-mail earlier - let me know if you have not recieved it.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SHAPE language in Access (Acc2K, Win2K Pro)

    I'm afraid not.
    Send me a private message with your address.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •