Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)

    New computer running Vista Home Premium. IE worked great for the first month or so. Then suddenly started freezing almost every time I use it. It may somehow be related to the pop-up blocker; although it says the blocker is on, I still get lots of pop-ups. The only thing I have changed is that we removed McAfee and installed Symantec 360. I would happily use Firefox except some sites I need don't work with Firefox. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)

    How did you remove McAfee?
    It sounds like it may still be running in the background and clashing with Symantec in some way.
    I am NOT a fan of McAfee or Symantec and do not use either one. I did use Symantec SystemWorks for a long time but tired of it's interfering with a lot of apps and slowing things down. So got rid of it completely. The less I speak of McAfee the better.

    Could you TEMPORARILLY remove both Symantec and make sure that McAfee is also totally gone, then see if things go back to normal?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)

    You also might take 10 minutes and go through all of the options in Symantec 360, which might be in a startup "learning" mode (ZoneAlarm does this) or a "fewest annoying dialogs" mode (many suites are starting to do this) and therefore not fully protecting you yet.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)

    Well, you are right that there were still bits and pieces of McAfee floating around--now deleted in the registry. But then on first trip into a favorite site in IE and--you guessed it--frozen dead. I also went through the Norton 360 settings and everything seems "up to snuff" there. Any more good ideas, anyone?

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)

    Did you try to temporarily disable Norton 360 to see if it may the culprit?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)

    You could also go into Task Manager ( CTL+ALT+DEL ) > performance and see if your CPU is stuck at 100%.
    Then look at processes to see if there is something grabbing CPU time besides System Idle process.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)

    I'll do that next time it freezes up, but as it never happens in Firefox, I doubt that's the problem. Also, it seems to happen preferentially with certain sites. For instance, I'm on IE now, and it has yet to freeze on the Lounge. Likewise, a couple of other sites it never freezes on. But most, just as I'm in the middle of something, it goes dead.

    I'm reluctant to disable Norton and then go online.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)

    What sites lock up?
    Post some links to pages that do lock.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)


  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Using Vista - IE freezes (7.0.6)

    I visited each of those sites and there are NO pop ups.

    If you think it is the pop up blocker, turn it off and check out these same sites.

    I have been using Vista since beta 2 and have not had any problems. I also do not use either Norton's or McAfee.

    Is the copy of Norton's for Vista as if not, then you need to get a correct version.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •