Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    The first sign of trouble is that drop down menus with the right mouse button become unavailable .... the action apparently causing the trouble is opening and closing lots and lots of MS Internet Explorer windows ..... everyting is fine for a while after just turing on the machine ... however, when the number of IE windows opened and closed increases to some maximum limit (under whatever conditions controls this limit), it is impossible to open another window until currently running applications are shut done or currently open windows are closed .... then, as subsequent action is taken opening and closing additonal windows, the net number of windows or applications that can be open at any given time decreases until eventually the system locks up refusing to open even a single window or application ....... after this happens, the only option is labotomize the machine forcing a shutdown while holding the on/off button down until the compliance is obtained ....... I have asked MS techs about this problem, and no one so far has been able to tell me what is happeing and why the problem cannot be cleared without shutting done the machine ........ I want to be clear that the problem is not related to trying to open zillions of windows and applciations simultaneously .. but rather that the problem is associated with the accumulative effect of having opened and subsequently closed zillions of IE windows .. in my experiments, the maximum number of IE windows open at any given time may be around 25 and this problem occurs with both IE 6 and IE 7 ...... incidentally, once the first instance occurs (the inability to open another window or right click to obtain a drop down menu), machine performance degrades rapidly toward total inabiolity to function ......

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    <center>
    <hr>the maximum number of IE windows open at any given time may be around 25<hr>
    </center>
    And neither you nor Microsoft thinks this is excessive ??? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    Good afternoon Doc ... the quesiton does not concern the number of windows that can be held open simultaneously .... it concerns the progressive resource degradation after so much usage until at some point the machine becomes useless ...... as well as the inability to clear the cash or whatevr counter is getting hung up without lobotomizing the machine .... it appears that under what one (especially you) may consider normal usage, the phenomenon described is never observed ...... most likely because the buffer or counter in question never reaches its limit ..... this is not to say there is no problem ...... it just means that if one finds him [or her] self in a situation where unusual use (by your standards) is necessary, then he or she is SOL .....

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    Everything has limitations and you are at that point in using that many windows.
    You might tell us more about your machine, i.e., Processor speed and type, amount of RAM and disk size and usage.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    As Dave said, a little more information could be useful.

    Beside what he mentioned; do you have any Internet Explorer add-ins installed?

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    A bit more information about your resources would be in order here (CPU, Ram, video and sound memory allocation being shared or seperate, etc.). I still believe that having 25 instances of IE or any other program open at the same time is excessive and at the limit of your system's capabilities. You can't get more out of it than it has resources to give. All else aside, you're the one with the problem, not me. I'm just trying to help. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    You might want to get a memory manager to monitor your RAM usage and it will also give you the ability to free up RAM if you find yourself out of resources. I use FreeRAM XP Pro. It's <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    The effects of memory optimization software are at best minimally positive, most likely not discernable by almost every day-to-day PC user, and possibly harmful to performance. See The Explorer: Resource Leaks, Part Two -- Fred Langa -- InformationWeek, TweakHound's Super XP Tweaking Guide - Bad Tweaks, and The Memory-Optimization Hoax (NOTE: subscription required to see complete article but comments are ggod).

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    <center>
    <hr>it will also give you the ability to free up RAM if you find yourself out of resources.<hr>
    </center>
    The OP asked for a way to regain control of their PC without rebooting.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    Adding to the accumulating knowledge:

    1. the problem described has been witnessed on other machines .... so I am thinking that this is not machine dependent
    2. as the phenomenon is precipitated by an accumulative effect, the number of windows open at any given time while on the way to reaching the limit can be much less than 25 ... in fact, the phenomenon has been induced by opening and closing a succession of only 10 windows ...... in this case, more time is required to reach the limit, but in the end the result is the same ..... taking the problem to its limit ....... I am thinking that if only 3 or 4 windows were opened and closed in succession over and over and over, then the limit would eventually be reached ...... I have not had the patience to drive the system to the limit using such a small number of simultaneously open windows .... in any case, the problem is almost certainly machine indpendent

    And for those of you who asked ...... the machine specs for the current test bed can be found in the attached ......
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    My desktops run up to several months without restarting, I shut down only when I leave town, or when required for new software and updates.

    I have no problem with the system slowing down because of the opening and closing of programs. I do NOT use more that maybe 5 different windows most of the time. I have had up to 15 open with no problems, but I do NOT do that very often.

    I have been check with users of other systems, including a MAC and Linux machines, and they have limitations as does Windows.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    The problem seems to be related to applications only to the extent that when the limit is reached, nothing works. And as the limit is approaching, the "X" activating the "close" window command works for any window, and shutting down a few actually allow one to continue using the machine ... however, once the problem is first noticed, it takes successively less time to reach the jamming point .... the problem is tied closely to IE for it is only by opening and closing IE windows that the phenomenon has been observed .....

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    It can be very frustrating when software doesn't just work the way we expect it to, but it sounds as though you have hit a limitation of the capability of IE7 on Windows. I don't think that anyone is going to be able to help beyond the obvious "if it hurts then stop doing it".

    StuartR

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    So ... going back to the original inquiry .. it is not so much that a limitation exists .... and as irritating and inconvenient as it may be, this is to be expected and already recognized .... my focus in the original inquiry was to find the counter, buffer or whatever it may be that is reaching the limit so that it can be cleared, reset or the effect otherwise nullified, allowing one to continue working without having to lobotomize the machine ..... or is the workings of the operating system and Internet explorer so complex and mysterious that certain things will never be known (the answer to this mystery included)

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    You might use the Processes tab of the Task Manager to monitor the disk and processor usage by the processes running on your PC. You can sort on a column by clicking its column heading (clicking a second time reverses the sort order).
    To activate the Task Manager, right-click an empty part of the Task Bar and select Task Manager from the popup menu, or press Ctrl+Shift+Esc.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Out of Resources ??? (XP Pro SP2)

    Or you could try FreeRAM AP Pro and see if it resolves the issue. It's <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> and if it doesn't work you can uninstall it and be none the worse for the experience. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •