Fred, love your newsletter! This’ll only take a second of your time.
Can you give me just a 1 second perspective on this question: I use an anonymizing service when surfing the web, but are the URLs I visit nevertheless stored and retrievable somewhere?
Fred, thank you so much for any perspective you can offer. –x509
Yes, they’re stored on your PC. That’s how "autocomplete" and the browser’s "history" functions work, for example.
Because removing these items can break autocomplete, history, and such, they’re a little hard to get at, but it can be done: Most thorough cleanup tools, such as jv16PowerTools, can erase that kind of residuum. Then with a defrag or "wipe" operation to overwrite the deleted info with new info, your URLs and history info will be unrecoverable to all but the deepest, most-expensive, and most complex forms of data recovery.