Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problems with usb 4 port 3.0 hub and 2 external hard drives

    Problems with usb 4 port 3.0 hub and 2 external hard drives when I restart windows it does detect the drives, when I do a shut down and power up the Laptop everything is fine, when I do a restart as windows does not see the drives, if I unplug the 3.0 hub and plug it back at the 3.0 port of the Asus Laptop the 2 hard drives reinitialize and run auto play and work fine. I have tried 3 types of 3.0 Hubs Uninstalled and reinstalled all USB Devices in device manager, plugged one thing in at a time and rebooted every time, all usb ports are working fine and I do see the 3.0 Hub listed there.

    I have an Asus G73JW series laptop that is about 5 months old running windows 7 Home premium 64-bit.

    It works with only one external drive but not two. but I need the 2 external hrad drives that is why I bought the 4 port 3.0 hub. both drive transfer at 3.0 speeds so I know the hub is installed right.

    One external drive is a Western Digital My Book 3Tb USB 3.0 Model #: WDBACW0030HBK-NESN,

    The other external drive is a Seagate goflex 2tb usb 3.0 model # STAC2000106

    Thank-you
    Last edited by mike34london; 2012-01-18 at 12:41.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,271
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,197 Times in 1,042 Posts
    Do you have the most current BIOS?

    Do you have the latest motherboard .inf files?

    Do you have the latest firmware for the disk drives?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,954
    Thanks
    422
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,450 Posts
    Mike,

    Welcome to the lounge as a new poster.

    Is your hub powered or passive, i.e. does it have a power brick? If it is passive it may be a power draw problem for some reason, why only on restart I surely don't know . Give a powered hub a try and see if it makes a difference.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,556
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 212 Times in 189 Posts
    The fact that it works with one drive but not two strongly suggests to me that it is an unpowered hub, and the power draw from two drives is two (!) much. I go with RetiredGeek.
    BATcher

    milliHelen (sub-unit): that quantity of female facial beauty sufficient to launch a single ship

  5. #5
    Administrator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,957
    Thanks
    120
    Thanked 822 Times in 737 Posts
    I would also definately check for drive firmware updates as Joe suggested.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •