Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Qawra, St. Paul's Bay, Malta
    Posts
    1,673
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts

    Computer name problem

    After reinstalling XP Home on my friend's old laptop I wanted to change the computer name to Maria's Old Laptop but was told that couldn't be done as the name included unacceptable characters, presumably referring to the apostrophe. I then changed it to Marias Old Laptop but got the same message, and can't understand what characters are unacceptable in that name, and why do Microsoft impose such a rule anyway.

    Can someone please enlighten me as to what is wrong with the name?

    Thanks and regards,
    Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 7700 Kaby Lake Processor -Asus B150 Pro (LGA1151) Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 16 GB DDR4)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,753
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 180 Times in 156 Posts
    Just a thought, are spaces allowed in the computer name?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    10,005
    Thanks
    423
    Thanked 1,608 Times in 1,452 Posts
    Roy,

    Maybe this article will help?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    royw (2013-05-29)

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,110
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 727 Times in 640 Posts
    Windows doesn't like spaces in a computer name: Computer names can't ... contain spaces.

    Bruce
    Last edited by BruceR; 2013-05-29 at 10:11.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    royw (2013-05-29)

  7. #5
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,520
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 208 Times in 165 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by royw View Post
    After reinstalling XP Home on my friend's old laptop I wanted to change the computer name to Maria's Old Laptop but was told that couldn't be done as the name included unacceptable characters, presumably referring to the apostrophe. I then changed it to Marias Old Laptop but got the same message, and can't understand what characters are unacceptable in that name, and why do Microsoft impose such a rule anyway.

    Can someone please enlighten me as to what is wrong with the name?

    Thanks and regards,
    Roy
    That's one reason, that some history with computers is advantageous.
    Like, Forever, a disk drive can have only eleven characters in its name and NO spaces or special Characters.

    "MariaLaptop" would work. Your example WILL NOT!

    For safety, when naming any Windows folder, always stay with the old DOS rule, "no file or folder name shall exceed 8 characters".
    Life will be a lot easier if you just follow a few simple rules of computing.

    I can't quote the exact rule, but when burning data files to DVD's, the burners, like NERO, don't like to see nested folders....one folder under another folder, under another folder, under another, etc., etc, etc.

    Good Luck!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to DrWho For This Useful Post:

    royw (2013-05-29)

  9. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    You can add dashes to get separation, maybe underline as well, but, then you always have to remember those characters are part of the computer name as well.

  10. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,942
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked 462 Times in 431 Posts
    Another thing that doesn't like spaces in the name is your wifi SSID. Some wireless devices won't be able to connect to your wifi if you have spaces in the SSID.

    But that's another subject.

  11. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,753
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 180 Times in 156 Posts
    What was your solution?

    You've gave thanks to a few replies, which one worked?

  12. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,564
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 212 Times in 189 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    Another thing that doesn't like spaces in the name is your wifi SSID. Some wireless devices won't be able to connect to your wifi if you have spaces in the SSID. But that's another subject.
    Indeed it is, but you've raised it. I've seen many SSIDs with spaces in. In fact my one is called Go Away! ...
    BATcher

    Mission: identify what we do best and find more ways of doing less of it better

  13. #10
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    497
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post

    SSID ... In fact my one is called Go Away! ...
    My cellphone's WiFi SSID also has spaces in it, "Whoomp! (There It Is)", and it seems to work fine.
    Last edited by SpywareDr; 2013-05-30 at 10:53.

  14. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Mine's Homeland Security. I went serious instead of HomeLan Security

  15. #12
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,942
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked 462 Times in 431 Posts
    Spaces in the SSID prevent some wireless devices from being able to connect to it. At my church we had a laptop in the soundbooth; no network jack anywhere near it. But no matter what I did, I couldn't get it to connect wirelessly. However, if I moved it to where there was a wire and plugged in, I got connected without any problem.

    The SSID had a space in the name. I renamed it, this time with no space. The laptop immediately connected, and has connected with no problem ever since.

  16. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Qawra, St. Paul's Bay, Malta
    Posts
    1,673
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    Browni, getting rid of spaces worked.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 7700 Kaby Lake Processor -Asus B150 Pro (LGA1151) Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 16 GB DDR4)

    Roy Whitethread

  17. #14
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,942
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked 462 Times in 431 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by royw View Post
    Browni, getting rid of spaces worked.
    Although some devices will connect if there are spaces in the SSID, others won't. It's an easy thing to see if that is the problem.

    I'm glad you got it working.

  18. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,110
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 727 Times in 640 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    Although some devices will connect if there are spaces in the SSID, others won't. It's an easy thing to see if that is the problem.

    I'm glad you got it working.
    ... but SSID wasn't the topic of this thread.

    Bruce

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •