Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,541
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts

    Keyboard functioning

    I was able in Windows 7 to set the capslock function to work via the shift key -- like a typewriter. I cannot seem to find that now in "10."

    Am I missing it, or is it gone?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 268 Times in 257 Posts
    It may help to know the make and model of the keyboard, some come with software that allows reprogramming of keys [although being from a typing class in '56 on manuals I don't do that].

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,953
    Thanks
    422
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,450 Posts
    Chuck,

    Use SharpKeys. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,541
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Berton, RG:

    It used to be something (in Windows 7) that was tied into the Language applet on the Control Panel, and worked on several keyboards / PC's I've had over the years.

    I'll try SharpKeys.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Administrator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,957
    Thanks
    120
    Thanked 822 Times in 737 Posts
    Doesn't your keyboard have a Caps lock key?

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,953
    Thanks
    422
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,450 Posts
    Jerry,

    I think the idea here is that pressing the Shift key will UnLock the Caps Lock like a typewriter would.

    Personally, I have SharpKeys make the CapsLock key operate like another shift key. I also use it to completely disable the NumLock key (it's on at boot and can't be turned off!)
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •