Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    984
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Firefox 37.x: High memory use?

    I just migrated to Win 8.1/64 and switched to FF 37. I run with a lot of tabs open (currently 67).

    In old FF 3.6.28, it took about 400MB to start FF with the same number of tabs (using Bartab on both systems (actually Bartab Heavy on the FF37 system), so most tabs are unloaded at startup).

    In FF 37, almost 1GB! of memory is consumed by FF after starting and before doing anything. Are others having similar experiences?

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    I would suspect add-ons...Adblock Plus is known for consuming lots of resources.

    I would recommend disabling add-ons one by one to see if it changes.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    Trev (2015-05-05)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 268 Times in 257 Posts
    I have 1 FF37.0.2 window open with 8 tabs/pages and a 2nd window with 1 page and show about 390MB in Task Manager.

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,028
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 1,117 Times in 1,040 Posts
    I have FF 37.0.2 and 12 tabs, 1500MB.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    8,021
    Thanks
    203
    Thanked 1,048 Times in 996 Posts
    One of the reasons why I prefer IE - much less demand.

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,053
    Thanks
    169
    Thanked 195 Times in 187 Posts
    FF 37.0.2 and 13 tabs - ~460Mb. YMMV

  8. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,473
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 367 Times in 320 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ibe98765 View Post
    ...using Bartab on both systems...
    Check out https://philikon.wordpress.com/2011/...ure-of-bartab/

    And from https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/bartab/ "Works with Firefox 3.5 - 4.0b6" and "This add-on is, for now, no longer being maintained."
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    Confuscius said: "no use running harder if you're on the wrong road" and "any problem once correctly understood is already half-solved".

  9. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,028
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 1,117 Times in 1,040 Posts
    After re-starting FF it's now 310MB.

    cheers, Paul

  10. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,556
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 212 Times in 189 Posts
    Personally, I've given up on Firefox 37.x because of the crashes which I get on quite normal webpages like the BBC News and the Guardian (UK newspaper), among others.

    I didn't get these with V36 and below, nor with v38 beta 9 (which I installed in desperation).
    And that's with quite a number of add-ins, including the excellent "memory friendly" uBlock, which for me replaced AdBlock Plus.
    BATcher

    milliHelen (sub-unit): that quantity of female facial beauty sufficient to launch a single ship

  11. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    236
    Thanked 40 Times in 38 Posts
    Can one tell how much of the browser's memory is being used by the adblocker extension?

  12. #11
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,028
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 1,117 Times in 1,040 Posts
    I don't remember the last FF crash I had, although there are always a few sites that don't play nicely.

    I don't know of a way to tell which extension is using memory, but the Firefox forums might have some insight.

    cheers, Paul
    Last edited by Paul T; 2015-05-09 at 01:39.

  13. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    236
    Thanked 40 Times in 38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    I would suspect add-ons...Adblock Plus is known for consuming lots of resources.

    I would recommend disabling add-ons one by one to see if it changes.
    I found an interesting article via the Mozilla Forums on Paul T's suggestion...
    https://blog.mozilla.org/nnethercote...-memory-usage/
    I tried the test suggested by using the VIM Color Scheme Test and Task Manager showed 21%/250 MB with no Adblock Plus and 40%/1780MB with it on.
    There was much less used with uBlock, 23%/440MB.

  14. #13
    Lounger rodsmine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...memory/?src=ss

    Adds an about:addons-memory page that details add-on memory usage - meaning you type about:addons-memory in the URL bar.

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Please refer to: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...memory/?src=ss

    about:addons-memory
    About this Add-on
    about:addons-memory provides an experimental about: page for advanced users to display some memory usage statistics about their add-ons.

    To use, open about:addons-memory in a new tab.

    Dear press,
    no, it is not OK to install this add-on along with the Top 20 or something add-ons and publish articles singling out the "biggest memory wasters" or something along the lines of this. This is wrong, superficial, sensationalist and outright wrong.
    Adblock Plus, being the most popular add-on, using 20-30 MB of memory is not a problem. Add-ons that may use hundreds of mega bytes of memory with steadily growing memory usage *may* be a problem and this add-on is intended to find exactly these kinds of issues more easily.
    Anyway, do you really need thousands of ads popping up? I don't.

  16. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    FF 37.0.2, 18 tabs (each with pictures), less than 600 Megs. I use Adblock Plus 2.6.9.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •